I know that this is a very simple ruling, but I still am running into people that disagree with it, and think that the psychic app for Puppet Master is the correct ruling for this power. The problem has been that the psychic app and the rulebook say things differently, and when that happens which do you go by? Well now the digital version of the rulebook is coming, and the glossary is already able to be read. The digital rulebook mirrors the paper version, leaving the psychic app as the odd man out.
For some it was the most recent writing of the rule, which of course would of have been the psychic app. Now with the digital rulebook giving us the original wording of the power, the most recent writing does not fly. Nor does the FAQs deal with the power or the different wording of the power.
For others like myself, the app is not a rulebook, codex, or even a supplement (all of which trump an app), so something different on it must have been a mistake or is incorrect. Either way, it is very much a slam dunk, as the digital rulebook is the same as the hardcover paper version and no faq or errata has addressed it.
Now we are talking the rules RAW, because to be honest, when it comes to a tourney, RAI really does not matter.
Thanks to The Harrower for sending us a screenshot of the glossary page regarding the rule as it is shown.
If you were unaware of what the issue was, here is what the problem is or was from a previous post. Of course there is also the issue of can puppet master deactivate shields to fire them?
From a post on June 16th
So whats is the difference in the rule. This is out of the Rulebook
"The target immediately makes a shooting attack as if it was one of your models (this cannot target his own unit). After resolving the attack, the target shakes free of the psyker's control and immediately reverts to the owning players control. "
The digital app reads
"The target immediately makes a shooting attack as if it was one of your models (this cannot target his own unit, or itself in the case of blast weapons), and can pivot on the spot in order to select a target. After resolving the attack, the target shakes free of the psyker's control and immediately reverts to the owning players control,immediately returning to its original facing if pivoted. "
So of course we were playing with the digital version, and it was devastating to have my Wave Serpents just wiping out anything they shot at. There was no questioning it, until after the game (late in the game) when I was reading it. The power was just so strong.
While we did not go immediately to the FAQ's, I thought it was important that the FAQ's do deal with puppet master, and it effectively fixes the issue. (just do not point your shields at yourself).
So here is the FAQ. The pivoting only effects walkers the way I read this. The digital version of the rule really needs to be updated, as having two rule sets say different things, makes it much more difficult to figure out. Thoughts?
Q: Does the Puppet Master power allow the controlling psyker to
‘pivot’ an enemy Walker in order to select a target not currently in its
fire arc? (p423)
A: Yes, but the model is assumed to return to its original
facing when it reverts back to the owning player’s control.