In a recent game, something came up that does not normally happen, and that is the digital version (the psychic powers app) has an entire extra part of a sentence in its description of how it works. So while during the games we did not go into it, after all I was reading the same material he was, afterwards during discussions it became quite the quandary. It was the primary factor in the devastation of my eldar forces, simply because two flying daemon princes with puppet master kept on taking control of my wave serpents and destroying very much any unit it shot at.


So whats is the difference in the rule. This is out of the Rulebook
"The target immediately makes a shooting attack as if it was one of your models (this cannot target his own unit). After resolving the attack, the target shakes free of the psyker's control and immediately reverts to the owning players control. "

The digital app reads
"The target immediately makes a shooting attack as if it was one of your models (this cannot target his own unit, or itself in the case of blast weapons), and can pivot on the spot in order to select a target. After resolving the attack, the target shakes free of the psyker's control and immediately reverts to the owning players control, immediately returning to its original facing if pivoted. "

So of course we were playing with the digital version, and it was devastating to have my Wave Serpents just wiping out anything they shot at. There was no questioning it, until after the game (late in the game) when I was reading it. The power was just so strong.

While we did not go immediately to the FAQ's, I thought it was important that the FAQ's do deal with puppet master, and it effectively fixes the issue. (just do not point your shields at yourself).

So here is the FAQ. The pivoting only effects walkers the way I read this. The digital version of the rule really needs to be updated, as having two rule sets say different things, makes it much more difficult to figure out. Thoughts?

Q: Does the Puppet Master power allow the controlling psyker to
‘pivot’ an enemy Walker in order to select a target not currently in its
fire arc? (p423)
A: Yes, but the model is assumed to return to its original
facing when it reverts back to the owning player’s control.


Faeit 212 Community News

< !- Site Check -->
 
Top
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...