Yes, I am able to fire a S10 AP1 Large Blast with a Ballistic Skill of 10. This is something I have been doing in my lists now for some time, and with the winding down of 5th edition, I decided to share one of my little combos that I really like to have in my lists.

Now first of all, I am going to tell you the downsides. Getting the Ballistic Skill 10 is situational. You need the right type of target which is not normally a vehicle. Here are the negatives

Negatives
*it is a psychic test at leadership 8 to use this power.
* to get BS10, the shot must be fired at a unit of psykers or a unit that has a psyker in it.
*perils will kill your shooting unit dead.

Benefits
*Its an assault 1 36" S10 AP1 large blast shot. This allows you to shoot it from a moving vehicle just fine.
*At BS 10 you are almost guarenteed a hit, or at worst you just might scatter 2"
*With 36" range and being assault 1, you can move to keep your distance from any psychic hoods.

Here is how you do it.
Take an Ordo Hereticus Inquisitor for your Grey Knight army HQ. The rarely used item that is required is a psyocculum. A psyocculum does the following if you have not already guessed.

The bearer of a psyocculum (and his unit) count as being Ballistic Skill 10 if shooting at a psyker, or a unit containing one or more psykers.

So that being said, its simple.
Your inquisitorial Henchmen are the following....Psykers (8).  A psychic barrage is S10 AP1 with 8 psykers in it. I generally add in some other units as well, just incase of perils so that the unit is not a complete loss or loss of a victory point.

There you go. Want to go hunt some psykers? Here is one weapon in your arsenal that you should consider taking along with you. This is also fun when you take an orbital bombardment with a techmarine and join him to the unit.

25 Comments:

  1. Replies
    1. thanks,
      You were here at the beginning.

      Delete
  2. I was worried till I read" Only works against pyskers..."

    Necrons FTW no pyskers

    ReplyDelete
  3. FTW doesn't work agaist daemons

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. regrettably... it doesn't have to.
      Everything else in the army does.
      At least, in theory. I haven't actually played a competent GK player yet.

      Delete
  4. It will work on other GK armies. That's half of what I see played right there :p

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Fibonacci, Go ahead and put in a techmarine in your lists as well. A single psyk-out bomb does wonders at BS10.

      Delete
  5. Fantastic trick against GK armies, what with all the units having Brotherhood of Psykers and vehicles with Psychic Pilot, gotta try it out one day.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. "A vehicle with this special rule is treated as a Psyker... for the purposes of psychic tests and psychic hoods."

      Sorry, no BS10 when shooting a tank. Also, Aegis/Reinforced Aegis makes actually passing that Leadership test kinda low chances.

      Delete
  6. Wow, that's a great trick against Grey Knights! Now if I only played GK...

    ReplyDelete
  7. It also works against nids, blood angels (librarian dreadnoughts!), grey knights, sanctioned psykers... great find!!

    ReplyDelete
  8. Yet another set back to my Lash list

    ReplyDelete
  9. So eventhough the orbital bombardment always scatters you still get to subtract the 10"?

    You still need LoS also though right due to it not having the barrage quality?

    ReplyDelete
  10. yet another reason to hate Matt Ward and his codices.

    ReplyDelete
  11. For once, Tau breathe a sigh of relief! Very nice trick. Thanks for sharing.

    Hownowbrowntau

    ReplyDelete
  12. just another example of how op grey knights are...

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I lost the bet..... I said we would get some anonymous poster complaining about how over powered they are within the first 5 posts.

      Im glad it took longer.

      Delete
    2. LOL yeah exactly "Yet another random hardly ever comes into play but Matt Ward is on the front of the Codex with which it is in so by definition it is free game to be used as an indictment of Matt Ward and everything he stands for growl growl growl".

      Delete
  13. hum, and what is to prevent the recieving psyk to use his hood and stop you dead on in to using the power?

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. nothing, but remember your psychic barrage range is a 36" assault 1. Meaning you are very mobile and can easily outrange a psychic hood.

      Delete
  14. This is nothing compared to the Culexus... 65 shots from a single model in a 1000 point game. As well as 6 S10 Large blast AP1

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. psykers from the inquisitorial henchmen count as 1 psyker for the entire unit. So do Grey Knights.

      Delete
  15. BS10 matters not for the Orbital, it always scatters the full dice rolled.

    ReplyDelete

 
Top
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...