Games Workshop has been rather fast at getting out a list of FAQs for the new Chaos Daemons codex, so I thought it was now the time and place to start asking those questions before they beat us to the punch.

Lets get some questions going, and make a list. Perhaps we will get some answers soon.


Once we get a good list on this, I will get the list up top on its own page in a couple days. If your question is related to the Daemons of Chaos army book (Warhammer Fantasy) please make a note of it in your rules problem.

Its not guarantee that GW will read these before an faq is written, but you never know. Lets get these questions going, and then on Wednessday or right before the end the week, if questions are still going, I will email these in and hopefully get a response.

163 Comments:

  1. Q: Does the Flaming chariot of Tzeentch need to remain stationary to fire its weapons?

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. covered under fast skimmer in brb and heavy weapons.

      Delete
    2. Not covered, b/c of silly decision to make the rider the one who fires the weapons.

      Delete
    3. To be specific, this should be worded: Are the blue and pink fire weapons carried by the exalted flamer, or are they mounted on the burning chariot?

      Delete
    4. This comment has been removed by the author.

      Delete
    5. well I will be damned, it is on the flamer(pg 40) so... that's a model in a transport that is a fast skimmer firing a heavy.
      the next question I have is what's the exalted flamers base size, can he disembark?

      Delete
    6. Cannot disembark, as with the other chariot(s) in that dex. He's there for no other reason than silly fluff ... and I guess he can punch things. He could in theory be killed in cc, the chariot could survive, and a herald of tzeentch could hop on board.

      This is something that will probably be tourney-FAQ'ed, GW-FAQ'ed, etc., all at the earliest possible opportunity for each.

      Delete
    7. If the weapons are on the chariot, you'd be able to fire both, and would get the weapons if you had a herald on a chariot. I'm betting they meant the Exalted Flamer to be relentless. Seems to be so in the Battle Report (they move & fire it at a landraider)

      Delete
    8. But if you make the exalted flamer relentless you open up another can of worms: Can the exalted flamer now fire overwatch with these weapons?

      Delete
    9. And why shouldnt he?
      He can now.

      Delete
  2. 1/ Does the Winds of Chaos, "Punished by the Gods" and "Daemonic Possession" effect characters embarked in a vehicle?

    2/ If Chaos Daemons are taken as allies how many Heralds can they have?

    3/ Can The Mask and Blue Scribes be taken as part of the 1-4 Heralds of Chaos combination?

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. 1) pbtg, yes. embarked on a vehicle is not clarified on d.p.
      2) no more than any other ally hq.
      3) yes.

      Delete
    2. @3. Why? Codex saids otherwise.

      Delete
    3. 1/ PBTG does not address the question rather it refers to only characters mounted on chariots. If a unit is considered not on the table when mounted in a vehicle then they cannot be targeted. Question stands.

      2/ Space Wolves HQs allow for two per HQ slot so the question stands how many heralds can an allied Daemon force include?

      3/ Confusion on why other named HQ choices in this section are treated as heralds and other are not. Clarity would be nice.

      Delete
    4. Sorry on 3, was wrong. boss was looking my way and couldn't have the book open.

      Delete
    5. for 2, it is because in the space wolf codex, it states that space wolf hqs are two per slot, whereas in the chaos daemons book it says in a primary detachment they are allowed 4.

      Delete
    6. And the Space Wolf book was written before 6th edition and allies. I feel and know others do that this is a question that they would like answered. GW is the only one who can provide clarity on it.

      Delete
    7. Does primary detachment mean that Chaos Demons are the main army and not the ally?
      If so, then it makes sense that if they are the ally that they would have less options for HQs.

      Delete
    8. 3/ The blue scribes and masque are not classed as heralds as they can't join units and have no locus power, thus they are not in the herald list.

      Delete
    9. iirc, it is 1-4 heralds per hq slot, with only 1 hq slot being able to be used like this, so in an allied detachment can take up to 4 heralds as their hq slot

      Delete
    10. iirc, it is 1-4 heralds per hq slot, with only 1 hq slot being able to be used like this, so in an allied detachment can take up to 4 heralds as their hq slot

      Delete
    11. Codex saids that only primary detachment can take 4 heralds for 1 slot.
      Allies can have only 1 herald/slot.

      Delete
    12. On what page does it say that allies can only have 1 Herald for the allied HQ slot? More specifically, in which section, under which heading/topic? (I have the digital dex, so the page numbers in the printed version are useless to me, but not to those who have the book...)

      I recall reading that Heralds are 4-for-1 HQ slot, and the BRB say 1 HQ slot is required to be filled in order to take allies, but I don't recall reading a restriction on allies & number of Heralds...

      Delete
    13. Top of the heralds page:
      "Each primary detachment in your army may include up to four Heralds of Chaos, chosen in any combination from the following models"

      I actually initially read this as not allowing Heralds in allies detachments at all, but apparently it means one herald in an allied list. We'll know more when the faq drops.

      Delete
    14. Thanks, Ian.

      That's a bit disappointing, if that's the case. Hopefully it's something like Plague Zombies were and will get FAQed. Otherwise, kinda takes the teeth out of the HQ slot in a Daemons allied attachment... :-/

      Delete
    15. Plus side, the force org swap for daemon princes works in allied detachments, so you can take a Greater Daemon and a Daemon Prince as a heavy at least.

      Delete
    16. True, but I think points-for-points a Soul Grinder is a better option... Just MHO...

      Delete
  3. If Pink Horrors (or any other Tzeentch unit) go to ground behind a Aegis Defence Line, thus recieving a 2+ cover save, are they immune to damage (exept flamers etc.) as they reroll 1's? So that is 2+ cover save reroll 1's :-P

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Well, not immune, as you can't reroll a reroll, but pretty resilient.

      Delete
    2. You only reroll 1s once, so if they roll 1s twice in a row, they take the damage.

      Delete
    3. Does an icon really not need to be on the table at the start of the turn in order to work?

      Delete
    4. You can never Reroll a die twice. It's in the Rulebook. So, if you have twinlinked weapons that Reroll ones, you can still only ever Reroll a die once. Two ones in a row will always miss.

      Delete
    5. Can someone tell me where that no dice can ever be re rolled more than once rule is in the 6th edition book. I recall it in the 5th but don't ever remember seeing in the 6th.

      Delete
    6. Can they even go to ground????!!!

      Delete
    7. Its been in every edition ive read and ive been playing since 2nd. You get one re-roll and you accept the second outcome. If you kept re-rolling the same one die till you get a 2 there would be no need to have a re-roll.
      Have you been playing like this long?

      Delete
    8. @Epic - jest, they are not fearless;) They simply pass all morale checks;)
      Awesome;)

      Delete
    9. daemons of tzeentch can only reroll invulnerable saves of 1. not saves of 1 in general. so a coversave of 1 is a failed coversave.

      its on page 26 on the codex.

      Delete
    10. On page 26 it says reroll 1s on all saving throws

      Delete
    11. oh awesome. got the german book here and it says invulnerable saves only. guess the english one is right. or i do hope so though. coz chaos space marines daemon princes got that aswell

      Delete
  4. @rick: You can only reroll once, so they have a 2+ reroll if they roll 2 1's in a row, they take a wound.

    ReplyDelete
  5. Does Daemonic Alignment prevent ICs from joining squads in other armies with the Daemon special rule? For instance, when deployed as allies for a CSM force, can a character possessing the Daemon of Khorne special rule join a unit of Possessed Space Marines with the mark of Khorne?

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. It does not. Instability prevents an IC without it from joining a unit with Instability though.

      Delete
    2. Yes, it prevents it. Mark of [insert chaos god name here] does not equal Daemon of [insert chaos god here].

      Delete
    3. That is not what the rule says. It says "daemons of the same alignment" not "Daemon of"

      Delete
    4. A mark does not make an IC a demon.
      Ahriman cannot join a group of Horrors because:
      1. He is not a demon
      2. He does not have Demonic Instability.

      Delete
    5. @Eternal Nurgling- you are correct, but that's not the question being asked. They want to know if a Codex Demon IC such as a herald can join a squad from Chaos Space Marines that ARE Daemon (USR) such as Possessed, Warptalons, Obliterators and have the matching alignment (mark).

      Since instability states a IC without instability mayn't join a unit with but not the other way around and the alignment wording doesn't specify "daemon of X" vs "daemon with mark of X" and they are daemons it appears all requirements may be satisfied and they can.

      The question is if that was intended.

      Delete
    6. Specifically, the rule says:

      "A unit with this special rule cannot be joined by a model without this special rule."

      So, does an IC count as a "unit" on it's own? I'd always thought so, but it does open up the possibility of, for example, a Herald of Nurgle joining a unit of Nurgle Obliterators, and conferring FnP upon them...

      Hmmmmm...

      Delete
    7. @Skull Leader I think it will go the same for a herald joining a csm squad, or any squad from the csm codex. Think of how easy it will be to destroy that herald with the demonic instability rule. All the extra wounds will go on him, and if it you get double 1s, only he comes back.
      It doesnt make sense.

      Delete
  6. Issues I found
    1) if a unit of horrors or a herald of tzeentch is created, how do you manifest the psychic power(brb only covers at start of game)
    2) how does an icon and a daemon of no alignment work (guessing its the same as a different alignment)
    3) the rewards states it can't be a duplicate of what you already have in profile, yet no profile duplicates a reward name, would it be what the reward grants (like if you have a 3+ save and rolled a 3+ save, would you get a reroll)
    That's all I found so far.

    ReplyDelete
  7. Is the -1 to leadership to psykic test from fiends on a per fiend basis, or is a single -1 for having a fiend within 12 inches?

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. And also, does this stack for multiple units of fiends?

      Delete
  8. What happens to a unit that has their initiative reduced to 0 or below by fiends? Can they still strike at Initiative 1 or do they forgo all attacks the first round of combat?

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Seeing as it lacks additional wording, I would follow the brb and say it gets reduced to 1.

      Delete
    2. BRB also states that models with Initiative 0 get no attacks. Very valid question that needs clarity.

      Delete
    3. and it also lacks the "to a minimum of 1" so it is a gray area. good point. doesn't the brb state something about a stat not being permitted to less than 1? gotta have a look see at that after work

      Delete
    4. BRB at page 2 saids that all characteristics except save can't be educed below 0. So yes, initiative can be reduced to 0 (but not lower). And according to RB, models with Initiative 0 can't hit in close combat, because there is no initiative step 0 (onlly from 10 to 1).

      Delete
    5. Basically, acording to RB, it isnt gray area. Charging fiends will take chance to strike from any models with initiative 5 or less.
      Question is if there will be FAQ for this. It seems little to strong tbh.

      Delete
    6. The Tau FAQ allows Markerlights to reduce a units Leadership (for pinning tests) to a point that the unit 'fails automatically'. This goes against the common factor of only reducing a characteristic to 1, so it sets a precedent for possibilities such as this.

      Delete
    7. The reason for the question is simple. No other power in the book lets you reduce something to 0, everything I have seen so far limits reductions to 1. This does not.

      Delete
    8. Rulebook allows it.
      New book, new possibilities:) Its ok:)

      Delete
    9. I would agree here. Gives Fiends basically a free round of attacks on the charge against most things... Not bad...

      Delete
    10. This would make fiends really good, and justify their loss of 2 attacks and hit&run. Also I think the psyker LD reduction needs clarification. If I really can temporarily neutralize psykers with a squad of fiends to Ld 2 or 3, then they might be very very useful.

      Delete
    11. Along the same line of the Spawn Init reduction.
      The Mask says she can reduce targets weapon skill to a minimum of one with her dance but does not say anything about a minimum reduction to ballistic skill on the other dance.
      So does that mean she gets to reduce the target's BS to 0?
      New book new possibilities, maybe?

      Delete
  9. If a unit given Feel No Pain from an outside source (say a Sang Priest) is hit by Warpflame and passes its T-test, does the unit a) get a 4+ FNP b) gain the FNP USR on the unit itself.

    If a), then when the Priest dies, does the unit 1) lose FNP all-together 2) retain the Warpflame stacks which create and affect a new FNP stat given to the unit

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. This comment has been removed by the author.

      Delete
    2. In addition, if an IC leaves a unit (A) affected by Warpflame, what happens to the Warpflame counters? Do they give the equivalent value to the IC who then joins another unit (B), requiring two separate sets of counters for the IC and unit (B), or is it like DE pain tokens (which would be weird...)?

      Delete
    3. How would this work with darkeldar if an ic and a unit split removing the fnp as a rule from one or the other?

      Delete
    4. The unit, as long as the priest was with them would get a 4+ FNP roll.

      SHould the priest leave them, he gets 4+, the unit 6+.

      But only a damned fool would take warpflame in the first place or otherwise use warpflame and not make sure they were going to annihilate the unit because helping your enemy is bloody stupid.

      Delete
    5. this is covered under independent characters. if say a blessing affects a unit with an IC, and that IC leaves the unit, then he retains that blessing. having not read much about the warpflame rule, I would assume this will work the same way.

      Delete
    6. This comment has been removed by the author.

      Delete
  10. Is the extra attack of Skarbrand (as he has two cc weapons) already included in his profile?

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Adding to that, are half his attacks fleshbane and half armourbane?

      Delete
    2. Wouldn't that be a choose which weapon you use, Since they are separate weapons. Also I think he gets the +1 atk.

      Delete
    3. If they are not specialist weapons he gets the bonus attack, and if he always has those weapons and cannot change them then his profile included the bonus. (No ref for that) He has to choose which weapon he is using.

      Delete
    4. Yes, he has to choose which weapon he's using, but he gets his +1 attack for having 2 CCWs. If it were already included on his profile, it would say that (such as Abaddon and Mark of Nurgle -> T5, MoT -> 4++, etc). That's how we've always done it with 2 Specialist Weapons of different types. For example, if you equip a CSM character with a Power Fist and a Lightning Claw, he gets the +1 for 2 CCWs, but has to say which he is using prior to the Initiative 10 step of each CC round.

      Delete
  11. Can Feel No Pain apply to Daemonic Instability losses?

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. great question as it can be used for perils of the warp which do not allow saves of any kind.

      Delete
    2. FnP is nit save. Instability loses arent wounds inflictint instant death, so... it seems yes:D Just like with perils.
      Strong buff for nurgle:)
      Also makes biomancy nice addition to chaos army.

      Delete
    3. Removed as casualty, not a wound. don't think it would work.

      Delete
    4. RAW, FnP CAN be taken against DI wounds.

      Delete
    5. Demonic Instability states that the unit suffers a wound for each point it fails its leadership test by, it is not "removed as a casualty" or anything like that. It says "no saves of any kind allowed." This is the same wording as from Perils of the Warp, which does allow FNP according to the FAQ. This is sufficient for me to allow FNP for DI until an FAQ tells me otherwise.

      Delete
  12. Do Obliterators with Mark of Nurgle benefit from Epidemius's aura and/or add to the tally? The rule for Epidemius state Daemon of Nurgle (which includes shrouded and etc.), but the entry for daemon princes in the daemons codex refers to being a daemon of X and being a daemon with Mark of X as being equivalent.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. The answer to this, unless FAQd, is no.

      Delete
    2. Agreed. No. Daemon of Nurgle is different from Daemon and Mark of Nurgle.

      Delete
    3. @EpicWarGamer.... That is incorrect.

      A Daemon with the Mark of Nurgle is a Daemon of Nurgle.

      Otherwise you are saying that all Daemons from CHaos Daemons who in their listings Have Mark of Nurgle... Don't count.

      Delete
    4. @Christopher... That is incorrect.

      A Daemon with the 'Mark of Nurgle' is *NOT* a 'Daemon of Nurgle'. These are two entirely different entries, from two entirely different books.

      RAW is all we have to go by, hence this list is being created to address these issues.

      No demons in the book have "Mark of Nurgle", they all have "Deamon of Nurgle".

      Delete
    5. Agree with MAAksel, unfortunately. Seems that the wording of "Mark of X" & "Daemon of X" is intentional, and meant to restrict the one from what benefits the other. Otherwise, IMHO, it would state that they DO affect/confer to each other.

      Delete
  13. As the wording stands only Daemon of Nurgle not mark of nurgle units. Daemon Princes of Nurgle in the CSM codex would as they are a Daemon of Nurgle.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Obliterators have the USR deamon tho.

      Delete
    2. Yes, but it doesn't say "Daemons with the Mark of Nurgle". It says, "Models with the Daemon of Nurgle rule". That means no Obliterators.

      Delete
    3. His tally applies to anything with the mark of nurgle. I believe the only part of that changed is the range.

      Delete
    4. Disagree, Eternal Nurgling, as much as I'd like to agree, it specifically says "Daemons of Nurgle". That would seem to work for a CSM Daemon Prince, but not Obliterators, which have both the "Daemon" rule and can be given "Mark of Nurgle"... Sorry, I've been playing Epidemius as my Death Guard's ally since the CSM codex came out, and would love for it to work the way you want , but unfortunately without an FAQ to the contrary, it doesn't appear to work that way... :-(

      Delete
  14. Well the old FAQ has been taken down from the uk site.....

    ReplyDelete
  15. How about just for devils advocate, does Skarbrand's effect confer rage that a screamer could use to get 3 Lamprey bite attacks?

    I don't think you can because it says only one attack, but its food for thought

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Attack modifiers are applied in the order multipliy/divide then add/subtract then set value. The lamprey bite modifier is set value so it always goes off after rage and sets it to 1.

      Delete
    2. Yeah i figured it was the set value thing. But It's always nice to see stuff in writing :)

      Delete
  16. Does an instrument let you re-roll the 6 for the effect or the scatter dice, to wound or deviation roll?

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. "Hit or not hit" so it wouldn't be to wound. it looks like they have it implied as the d6 on if it is suffering the effect, but the wording is loose enough to argue if it would he the scattering but maybe not the number of hits (tzeentch) seeing as it would never be "not hit", just how many hits.

      Delete
    2. Correction: slaanesh not tzeentch

      Delete
  17. After looking through some of this I wondered... The old FAQ that was up for C:CD has been pulled. Granted I didn't look on release day, but maybe....?

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. The old FAQ is down as it has no relevance any longer. That is all it means and implies. We could get a new FAQ today or never as that is up to GW.

      Delete
  18. If a unit containing an icon is embarked in a vehicle or building, such as an imperial bastion, can models use the icon when deepstriking to reduce/remove scatter distance? If so, do they measure from the building?

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. That's how banners work, like the DAs banner of bolster salvo stupidity, so I wouldn't see why not in this case...

      Delete
    2. SO by extension jd would also call noise marine weapons "salvo stupidity"

      Did Daemons get a salvo weapon? as we are only on the 3rd codex it could become a trend to bring bolters in line with Xeno assault weapons.

      Delete
  19. Does warp flame stack? It seems to by the RAW that every time a unit passes the test it gets +1 so if you have a unit of ten marines, and kill one each turn over the course of the game it will have a 2+ FNP. Is that correct?

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. So it seems. Waiting for FAQ.
      Also i think that in worked this way in fantasy.

      Delete
  20. What is the Bloodcrushers armour save? (I know its 6+)
    The description states that they are all but immune to small arms fire bouncing of there armoured hide so surely it must have an armour save of more than 6+.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I'm thinking this is a HUGE error. Unless their toughness is really high.

      Delete
    2. Well I would consider str3 small arms so if they have t5 and are wounded on a 6 they can have a mediocre sv and be all but immune to small arms fluff wise. But with a 6+ sv if they arent at least t5 u should definately claim shenanigans on the fluff:p

      Delete
    3. Marine toughness with a guardsman save on a damn dreadnaught base.

      I think my crushers will be bravely defending their closet shelf for some time.

      Delete
    4. But how many wounds do they have?

      Delete
    5. They have just enough wounds so that every missile launcher on the table will be pointed at them. (3 wounds)

      Delete
    6. 3. Not that it helps at all. 10 marine with boltguns and nothing else will make their points back against the squad with 1 round of shooting and an overwatch. A basilisk or fogefiend will vaporizer half your 400 pt squad in one blow.

      The stateliness would be excellent for a harassing unit that could sneak their way through cover and hit the weakspots, but as we've been over, the things are on dreadnought bases. They are taller than rhinos. Heralds and banner carriers are tall enough to not physically fit under the second floor of a building (to hide from barrage) and cavalry treat difficult terrain as dangerous. Even if you're some kind of magician who can keep them in cover across the table despite the huge ass models they'll trip on their face and die.

      Delete
  21. Q: Can you remove Warpflame from you know...everything

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. A: Yes but you will to buy the new "What were we thinking" Errata book coming soon (4 years there abouts).

      LMT edition £75 or collectors edition £200 (collectors edition features an arse print of Phil kelly's where he mistakenly used it for loo rule! :D )

      Delete
  22. Does a Herald on a Chariot have Daemonic Instability?
    Does Warpdoom affect enemies in a combat if the bearer killed a character in a challenge?
    What happens if you roll a Double 1 on the Daemonic Instability tests from the The Storm Abates and Punished by the Gods Warp Storm results?

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. 1. Yes he does.
      2. Thats the point i guess. :D
      3. Nothing. No demons were lost in combat this turn, so no demons are restored.

      Delete
  23. Still haven't FAQ the Dark Angels. I'm guessing they need at least three months, maybe more given the tables to play test this release.

    Because, ya know, obviously they don't do that anymore.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. This comment has been removed by the author.

      Delete
    2. Dark Angels got their FAQ within a week fo their release

      Delete

    3. Granted entire unit entries were just cut and pasted from the old codex... opps

      Delete
    4. I mean GW adding errata and fixing questions presented. A lot of confusing entries, just like this book. Too much stuff that doesn't make sense.

      Delete
  24. Who does Karanak hate? All Khorne demons hate Slaanesh, but Karanak's profile lists HATE. No other Khorne special characters list Hate. Does this mean he Hates everyone; or more specifically the character he "Preys" on?

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. In the core rulebook, it says if nothing is listed, he gets hated against everything.

      Delete
  25. Is the Astartes knight in silver armour, who finally submits and is "blessed" by Slaanesh her/him/itself, in fact Kaldor Draigo? (Would handily explain why he is always torn back into the Warp after his escapades in the material universe.)

    If not, then who else could be bad enough dude to save the President and waltz right into the Palace of Pleasure, resisting every other temptation the Prince(ss) of Pleasure can throw at him while smiting all the puny daemons who stand in his way, considering an entire Eldar seer-frakking-council is shown to have managed a much less succesful attempt to intrude Papa N's privacy?

    (We should perhaps not discount the Tin Man yet, though, because after all, Dorothy and Toto did manage to navigate through Tzeentch's labyrinth...)

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. not really a FAQ question but:

      the silver knight as he stood before slaanesh kneeled down and succumbed to him.

      draigo still walks around in the warp so no he is not the silver knight.

      Delete
    2. He is if you want him to be! That's kind of the point to stories left ambiguous like this. Authorial intent really has naught to do with it.

      Delete
  26. WHFB questions

    1. Are the impact hits of the skullcannon considered magical?

    2. If a bloodcrusher is affected by frenzy, is the entire model affected or just the rider?

    Thank you!

    ReplyDelete
  27. Ok, there's nothing in the rulebook stopping FNP from being a 1+, because FNP isn't a save. So a unit can be immune to anything that doesn't cause ID.

    Fix that. Preferably by making warpflame optional.

    I will never, ever use it if I have the choice. If I shoot marines, the D3 wounds would be helpful, IF there wasn't a 2/3 chance of making my opponent's tougher. Even guardsmen pass it 50% of the time.

    Maybe if it gave FNP on a 6? That was how it was in the old fantasy codex.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. a roll of 1 always fails... BRB like pg 1 or 2.

      Delete
    2. Azrell, apologies if I'm wrong, but I'm pretty sure that for toughness tests, 6's always fail, not 1's

      As has been said before, the only situation where it would make sense to use any warpflame attack is if you were pretty sure you were going to all but wipe out the enemy unit. Passing a toughness test for everything but an ork gretchin is just too easy!

      It would make sense to me that only on a roll of 1 would the unit gain feel no pain, otherwise they pass the test and just don't gain additional rules.

      Sadly though, this clearly isn't going to be changed. It's not a random typo or an easy mistake to make. It's an elaborate and well thought out rule that was intended to be that way (Granted, Mr Kelly must have been high as a kite when writing it).

      Tzeentch's psychic powers have been hit hard. I don't like it at all, but we're just going to have to learn to be VERY selective about our targets


      Delete
  28. does Daemon of tzeentch's ability to add +3 to the LD when casting psychic powers can get the value above 10? (in case of heralds, the changeling, daemon princes of tzeentch, lords of change, kairos)

    the BRB says a stat cannot go above 10 however attacks are a exception to this due to equipment, special rules etc. so what about daemons of tzeentch?

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Yes....This.

      I find it somewhat coincidental that a lord of change has Ld9, meaing that after the +3 this would make him Ld12. If it DID boost his Ld for psychic tests up to 12, it would mean that he could still suffer perils of the warp (which in my opinion is a god damn travesty in and of itself) but at the very least he would always be able to use the power.

      I hope thats what it does, but I seriously doubt it. Stats going above 10 has almost no precedent. But then again...

      Ive said it for a long time now, and its become my go-to mantra for viewing the GW hobby/gaming world:

      "Never underestimate GW's capacity to do something very, very, stupid".

      Delete
    2. Except wounds and attacks stat never goes above 10. Rulebook, page 2.
      Its like Veteran of Long War on Chaos Sorcerer. LD is max 10.

      Delete
    3. Wounds never go above 10 either

      Delete
    4. that is not true in case of attacks. models like abaddon for instance are able to get a attack value above 10. he can go up to 13 attacks. 4 profile in the profile +1 for 2 specialist weapons. +2 for assault (mark of khorne)and his daemonweapon +d6.

      Delete
    5. The more relevant question is what order you calculate modifiers in. For example, if a Lord of Change (Ld9) casting a psychic power (+3 Ld) targets a Dreadnought with Reinforced Aegis (-4 Ld), does he test at Leadership 8 or Leadership 6?

      Delete
  29. This for Warhammer Fantasy Battles Daemons of Chaos Armybook.

    It mentions Daemonic Instability for special rules, but none of the Daemons have this in their profile. I would have thought it meant to cover all Daemons but when I read the first result under the Reign of Chaos table, it points out units with the special rule daemonic instability. This is completely the opposite in Codex Chaos Daemons where I think every daemon has this rule. Would it be safe to assume that each daemon unit in the Army rulebook has daemonic instability special rule?

    ReplyDelete
  30. Does a unit with the Daemon USR deep striking within 6" of an icon or banner from the Daemons book only scatter 1D6 even if it is not a "daemon of" but has a mark instead?

    As written it says "If the unit(s)...have different daemonic alignments (as explained above) but are entirely composed of models with the Daemon special rule...1D6"

    The explanation is:
    "If the unit...have the same daemonic alignment (both units are entirely composed of models with the same Daemon of... special rule)"

    Technically, a unit of mutilators is entirely composed of models with the daemon special rule, and no matter what mark they have they do not have the "daemon of..." rule, so, they would be daemons of a different alignment. Seems like janky rule writing.

    ReplyDelete
  31. Another thing: if you roll the exalted gift blessed twice. After rolling the lesser and exhalted guft. Can you still exchange one and/or both gifts for a magical weapon/hellforged artifact?

    ReplyDelete
  32. Always thought crit and blast injury is much more important than IAS, but when in PVP significance of the IAS is much greater than the storm strike and blast injuries, diablo iii gold

    ReplyDelete
  33. Q. Why do you hate poor Tzeentch so?

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Because, Warpfire is awesome yo! ....

      It's the same crap in Fantasy Warriors of Chaos... who the hell would use these? If it was capped to a 5+, that would be 1 thing, but wtf is this crap now? Makes me not fire at units with some of my powers, for fear I don't have enough to simply finish them.

      As for it 'stacking' with chalice from BA, I don't believe that would be the case. As it would give the UNIT 6+ FNP, then the chalice would kick in, providing a 5+, the chalice does not say it stacks onto any current saves.

      On a side note... I did do a wound to a thunderfire cannon with my horrors, then the rolled a 6 for toughness, and lost the cannon and tech marine =P

      Delete
    2. Same for Apothecary for that matter. If you GIVE a USR to a unit, then the Apothecary gives then 5+ FNP - the USR would go first, then the 'added item'.

      Unless the item says "improves FNP by 2+" (which i'm 99.9% sure it doesn't), you wouldn't benefit from the warpfire if you already had FNP until you passed 3 saves.

      Delete
    3. "If the test is passed, all models in that unit gain the Feel No Pain (6+) special rule for the rest of the game. Any models in the unit that already have the Feel No Pain special rule instead gain +1 to all Feel No Pain rolls for the rest of the game. Chaos is fickle!"

      Its the other way around, you add +1 to your roll. The book doesn't say if warpflame effects stack, though.

      Delete
  34. Can u please clearup the jetpack cavalry rules?Do plague drones have to choose at begining of movement if to move as cavalry or jetpacks? Somewhat unclear. And as they are daemons of nurgle how does slow and purposeful affect this

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Inclined to say that the slow and purposeful still negates the ability to run in the shooting phase, but it still gets the extra move in the assault phase. And move and charge as calvary. I don't have the books in front of me; what are the rules for jetpacks pertaining to difficult terrain? Are there any conflicts with calvary? As it stands, I think you apply both rules.

      Delete
    2. Both can move through difficult terrain but its classed as dangerous. Its just odd that they combined two unit types to make a new one but haven't clarified its rules. Both are very different with different special rules. Example cavalry get hammer of wrath and fleet. Jet packs get very bulky, relentless, deep strike. A simple note in codex entry explaining what it can do would have been welcome. Just a smidge confusing. And the fact its a daemon of nurgle adds to that with slow n purposeful...

      Delete
    3. I did not find them confusing. Cav is Cav. Jetpack allows you to move normally in your movement phase, but allows you to move 2D6 in the assault phase instead of assaulting. Slow and purposeful prevents you from moving in the shooting phase.

      Delete
    4. I know the difference between the two units. But what is it? Cav or/and jetpack? They both act/move differently. Just say if cav and jet rules apply. Does it move 12 as cav? or 6 and then 2d6 as jet? or choose either/both? Does it get hammer of wrath and fleet( to reroll charge) as its cav? I find it unclear and i'd love powers that be give a clear definition. I'm not the sharpest knife but it seems muddled. Make up new unit type hybrid please at least define what it exactly is. Is it just me?.....

      Delete
    5. I don't see why this is confusing to people. It says on Pg. 47 of the Big Book that "Jet Pack is not a classification in and of itself. Instead, you'll find it occurs in addition to another - Jet Pack Infantry, for example." So they are cavalry with the added bonus of being able to move over models and terrain (with dangerous terrain tests if starting or ending in difficult terrain) and can make a thrust move in the assault phase. They have Fleet and Hammer of Wrath from being Cavalry, and Bulky, Deep Strike, and Relentless from being Jet Pack. Easy peasy.

      Delete
    6. Cool. All i wanted to hear. :) Was me. lol. Drones even better than i thought.

      Delete
  35. do you remove the syphon tokens from the blue scribe only when you roll a six or each time you roll the die, whether there is a six result or not?

    ReplyDelete
  36. For the purpose of figuring out how many warp charges a unit of pink horrors get by counting number of horrors in the unit, does a herald of Tzeentch IC that has joined the unit count as another horror?

    In the rule book the heralds of Tzeentch are listed under the same entry for regular pink horrors (on p.38) so is like to think the answer is yes...

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Heralds of Tzeentch are not Pink Horrors. The fact that they are on the same page of the fluff section is kinda irrelevant.

      Unless GW does their usual and changes the rules with an FAQ, of course. :P

      Delete
  37. Daemons FAQ has gone from GW site, this could meen we will get an update soon! :)

    ReplyDelete

 
Top
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...