Chaos Daemons have now been out for over a week and we have not yet had an FAQ from Games Workshop. So I am expecting that we would see one very soon, and in that respect, I thought I would repost up what questions came up during our FAQ Questions post.


Perhaps some questions that still need answering will be seen before the faq is released. These are also posted at the top of the page now.


Aaron EskenaziMarch 4, 2013 at 11:06 AM
Bill 'Centurian99' KimMarch 4, 2013 at 11:42 AM
To be specific, this should be worded: Are the blue and pink fire weapons carried by the exalted flamer, or are they mounted on the burning chariot?

Patrick FlemmingMarch 4, 2013 at 11:51 AM
well I will be damned, it is on the flamer(pg 40) so... that's a model in a transport that is a fast skimmer firing a heavy.
the next question I have is what's the exalted flamers base size, can he disembark?

Mike Brandt; mvbrandt@gmailMarch 4, 2013 at 11:59 AM
Cannot disembark, as with the other chariot(s) in that dex. He's there for no other reason than silly fluff ... and I guess he can punch things. He could in theory be killed in cc, the chariot could survive, and a herald of tzeentch could hop on board.

This is something that will probably be tourney-FAQ'ed, GW-FAQ'ed, etc., all at the earliest possible opportunity for each.

Lore_WeaverMarch 4, 2013 at 12:02 PM
If the weapons are on the chariot, you'd be able to fire both, and would get the weapons if you had a herald on a chariot. I'm betting they meant the Exalted Flamer to be relentless. Seems to be so in the Battle Report (they move & fire it at a landraider)



HOTpandaMarch 4, 2013 at 11:49 AM
Space Wolves HQs allow for two per HQ slot so the question stands how many heralds can an allied Daemon force include? 

MroczysławMarch 4, 2013 at 3:43 PM
Codex saids that only primary detachment can take 4 heralds for 1 slot.
Allies can have only 1 herald/slot.


MasterSlowPokeMarch 4, 2013 at 11:13 AM
Does an icon really not need to be on the table at the start of the turn in order to work?


haggerty321March 4, 2013 at 11:15 AM
Does Daemonic Alignment prevent ICs from joining squads in other armies with the Daemon special rule? For instance, when deployed as allies for a CSM force, can a character possessing the Daemon of Khorne special rule join a unit of Possessed Space Marines with the mark of Khorne?


kull LeaderMarch 4, 2013 at 5:34 PM
@Eternal Nurgling- you are correct, but that's not the question being asked. They want to know if a Codex Demon IC such as a herald can join a squad from Chaos Space Marines that ARE Daemon (USR) such as Possessed, Warptalons, Obliterators and have the matching alignment (mark).

Since instability states a IC without instability mayn't join a unit with but not the other way around and the alignment wording doesn't specify "daemon of X" vs "daemon with mark of X" and they are daemons it appears all requirements may be satisfied and they can.

The question is if that was intended.

Specifically, the rule says:
"A unit with this special rule cannot be joined by a model without this special rule."

So, does an IC count as a "unit" on it's own? I'd always thought so, but it does open up the possibility of, for example, a Herald of Nurgle joining a unit of Nurgle Obliterators, and conferring FnP upon them...


Patrick FlemmingMarch 4, 2013 at 11:19 AM
Issues I found
if a unit of horrors or a herald of tzeentch is created, how do you manifest the psychic power(brb only covers at start of game)

Patrick FlemmingMarch 4, 2013 at 11:19 AM
Issues I found


Daemons with an Icon and Daemons with no Alignment
Patrick FlemmingMarch 4, 2013 at 11:19 AM
how does an icon and a daemon of no alignment work (guessing its the same as a different alignment) 


Patrick FlemmingMarch 4, 2013 at 11:19 AM
the rewards states it can't be a duplicate of what you already have in profile, yet no profile duplicates a reward name, would it be what the reward grants (like if you have a 3+ save and rolled a 3+ save, would you get a reroll)


liver BeinlichMarch 4, 2013 at 11:34 AM
Is the -1 to leadership to psykic test from fiends on a per fiend basis, or is a single -1 for having a fiend within 12 inches?

LGUNMarch 5, 2013 at 2:06 AM
And also, does this stack for multiple units of fiends?


Oliver BeinlichMarch 4, 2013 at 11:35 AM
What happens to a unit that has their initiative reduced to 0 or below by fiends? Can they still strike at Initiative 1 or do they forgo all attacks the first round of combat?



SikariusMarch 4, 2013 at 11:50 AM
If a unit given Feel No Pain from an outside source (say a Sang Priest) is hit by Warpflame and passes its T-test, does the unit a) get a 4+ FNP b) gain the FNP USR on the unit itself.
If a), then when the Priest dies, does the unit 1) lose FNP all-together 2) retain the Warpflame stacks which create and affect a new FNP stat given to the unit



Rick GroeneveldMarch 4, 2013 at 11:52 AM
Is the extra attack of Skarbrand (as he has two cc weapons) already included in his profile?
pegboardMarch 4, 2013 at 12:44 PM
Adding to that, are half his attacks fleshbane and half armourbane?


MuninnMarch 4, 2013 at 11:58 AM
Can Feel No Pain apply to Daemonic Instability losses?


Nick WMarch 4, 2013 at 12:03 PM
Do Obliterators with Mark of Nurgle benefit from Epidemius's aura and/or add to the tally? The rule for Epidemius state Daemon of Nurgle (which includes shrouded and etc.), but the entry for daemon princes in the daemons codex refers to being a daemon of X and being a daemon with Mark of X as being equivalent.

Captain Jay MorganMarch 4, 2013 at 1:00 PM
The answer to this, unless FAQd, is no.

EpicWarGamerMarch 4, 2013 at 2:42 PM
Agreed. No. Daemon of Nurgle is different from Daemon and Mark of Nurgle.

ChristopherMarch 4, 2013 at 3:59 PM
@EpicWarGamer.... That is incorrect.

A Daemon with the Mark of Nurgle is a Daemon of Nurgle.

Otherwise you are saying that all Daemons from CHaos Daemons who in their listings Have Mark of Nurgle... Don't count.

MAAkselMarch 4, 2013 at 6:54 PM
@Christopher... That is incorrect.

A Daemon with the 'Mark of Nurgle' is *NOT* a 'Daemon of Nurgle'. These are two entirely different entries, from two entirely different books.

RAW is all we have to go by, hence this list is being created to address these issues.

No demons in the book have "Mark of Nurgle", they all have "Deamon of Nurgle".

jdwelch62March 4, 2013 at 7:08 PM
Agree with MAAksel, unfortunately. Seems that the wording of "Mark of X" & "Daemon of X" is intentional, and meant to restrict the one from what benefits the other. Otherwise, IMHO, it would state that they DO affect/confer to each other.


HOTpandaMarch 4, 2013 at 12:07 PM
As the wording stands only Daemon of Nurgle not mark of nurgle units. Daemon Princes of Nurgle in the CSM codex would as they are a Daemon of Nurgle.

Christopher ValentineMarch 4, 2013 at 12:59 PM
Obliterators have the USR deamon tho.

Captain Jay MorganMarch 4, 2013 at 1:06 PM
Yes, but it doesn't say "Daemons with the Mark of Nurgle". It says, "Models with the Daemon of Nurgle rule". That means no Obliterators.

Eternal NurglingMarch 4, 2013 at 6:27 PM
His tally applies to anything with the mark of nurgle. I believe the only part of that changed is the range.

jdwelch62March 4, 2013 at 7:13 PM
Disagree, Eternal Nurgling, as much as I'd like to agree, it specifically says "Daemons of Nurgle". That would seem to work for a CSM Daemon Prince, but not Obliterators, which have both the "Daemon" rule and can be given "Mark of Nurgle"... Sorry, I've been playing Epidemius as my Death Guard's ally since the CSM codex came out, and would love for it to work the way you want , but unfortunately without an FAQ to the contrary, it doesn't appear to work that way... :-(



Man Boy GeniusMarch 4, 2013 at 12:29 PM
How about just for devils advocate, does Skarbrand's effect confer rage that a screamer could use to get 3 Lamprey bite attacks?

I don't think you can because it says only one attack, but its food for thought

LeonTrollskiMarch 4, 2013 at 12:52 PM
Attack modifiers are applied in the order multipliy/divide then add/subtract then set value. The lamprey bite modifier is set value so it always goes off after rage and sets it to 1.


pegboardMarch 4, 2013 at 12:45 PM
Does an instrument let you re-roll the 6 for the effect or the scatter dice, to wound or deviation roll?

Patrick FlemmingMarch 4, 2013 at 12:59 PM
"Hit or not hit" so it wouldn't be to wound. it looks like they have it implied as the d6 on if it is suffering the effect, but the wording is loose enough to argue if it would he the scattering but maybe not the number of hits (tzeentch) seeing as it would never be "not hit", just how many hits.

Patrick FlemmingMarch 4, 2013 at 2:23 PM
Correction: slaanesh not tzeentch


xeenMarch 4, 2013 at 2:03 PM
Does warp flame stack? It seems to by the RAW that every time a unit passes the test it gets +1 so if you have a unit of ten marines, and kill one each turn over the course of the game it will have a 2+ FNP. Is that correct?

MroczysławMarch 4, 2013 at 2:33 PM
So it seems. Waiting for FAQ.
Also i think that in worked this way in fantasy.


ZeredekMarch 4, 2013 at 2:43 PM
Does a Herald on a Chariot have Daemonic Instability?
Does Warpdoom affect enemies in a combat if the bearer killed a character in a challenge?
What happens if you roll a Double 1 on the Daemonic Instability tests from the The Storm Abates and Punished by the Gods Warp Storm results?

MroczysławMarch 4, 2013 at 3:26 PM
1. Yes he does.
2. Thats the point i guess. :D
3. Nothing. No demons were lost in combat this turn, so no demons are restored.


heybiffMarch 4, 2013 at 4:09 PM
Who does Karanak hate? All Khorne demons hate Slaanesh, but Karanak's profile lists HATE. No other Khorne special characters list Hate. Does this mean he Hates everyone; or more specifically the character he "Preys" on?

Captain Jay MorganMarch 4, 2013 at 6:48 PM
In the core rulebook, it says if nothing is listed, he gets hated against everything.


AbusePuppyMarch 6, 2013 at 2:08 PM
if a Lord of Change (Ld9) casting a psychic power (+3 Ld) targets a Dreadnought with Reinforced Aegis (-4 Ld), does he test at Leadership 8 or Leadership 6?




Ian LogsdonMarch 4, 2013 at 7:44 PM
Does a unit with the Daemon USR deep striking within 6" of an icon or banner from the Daemons book only scatter 1D6 even if it is not a "daemon of" but has a mark instead? 

As written it says "If the unit(s)...have different daemonic alignments (as explained above) but are entirely composed of models with the Daemon special rule...1D6"

The explanation is: 
"If the unit...have the same daemonic alignment (both units are entirely composed of models with the same Daemon of... special rule)"

Technically, a unit of mutilators is entirely composed of models with the daemon special rule, and no matter what mark they have they do not have the "daemon of..." rule, so, they would be daemons of a different alignment. Seems like janky rule writing.



SoubaMarch 5, 2013 at 12:21 AM
Another thing: if you roll the exalted gift blessed twice. After rolling the lesser and exhalted guft. Can you still exchange one and/or both gifts for a magical weapon/hellforged artifact?



Len SmithMarch 5, 2013 at 4:15 AM
Can u please clearup the jetpack cavalry rules?Do plague drones have to choose at begining of movement if to move as cavalry or jetpacks? Somewhat unclear. And as they are daemons of nurgle how does slow and purposeful affect this?


WaltermandiasMarch 5, 2013 at 12:08 PM
I don't see why this is confusing to people. It says on Pg. 47 of the Big Book that "Jet Pack is not a classification in and of itself. Instead, you'll find it occurs in addition to another - Jet Pack Infantry, for example." So they are cavalry with the added bonus of being able to move over models and terrain (with dangerous terrain tests if starting or ending in difficult terrain) and can make a thrust move in the assault phase. They have Fleet and Hammer of Wrath from being Cavalry, and Bulky, Deep Strike, and Relentless from being Jet Pack. Easy peasy.



JosephMarch 5, 2013 at 3:34 PM
do you remove the syphon tokens from the blue scribe only when you roll a six or each time you roll the die, whether there is a six result or not?



PtarixMarch 5, 2013 at 4:28 PM
For the purpose of figuring out how many warp charges a unit of pink horrors get by counting number of horrors in the unit, does a herald of Tzeentch IC that has joined the unit count as another horror?

In the rule book the heralds of Tzeentch are listed under the same entry for regular pink horrors (on p.38) so is like to think the answer is yes...

AbusePuppyMarch 6, 2013 at 2:11 PM
Heralds of Tzeentch are not Pink Horrors. The fact that they are on the same page of the fluff section is kinda irrelevant.



























28 Comments:

  1. Have you heard any rumors about a FAQ wave?

    ReplyDelete
  2. For Skarbrand, you choose what weapon to attack with thats what makes his attacks flesh or armourbane. Same with Abbadon, he doesn't attack with both weapons he chooses one. The extra attack is also never included.

    For Drones just read the Jetpack unit type entry. They move like normal cav or can become skyborne. Since they take dangerous terrain tests either way it basically equates to jump infantry that can move 12" then thust in assault phase.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. The extra attack for 2CCWs is not included in his profile but he does get the additional attack due to the fact neither weapon has the specialist rule.

      Delete
    2. This comment has been removed by the author.

      Delete
    3. That's sort of what I said but even if they were both specialist weapons he would still get the +1 attack. It's only when one is specialist and the other isn't that you don't get +1 attacks.

      Delete
  3. Didn't see a new one up there I came across, so I'll add it here (apologies if it's been asked/answered already).

    If a unit of Horrors is in control of a gun emplacement, when they use their witchfire attack is the entire unit ineligable to fire the emplacement or just one model used to 'fire' the psychic attack?

    ReplyDelete
  4. This comment has been removed by the author.

    ReplyDelete
  5. Since they are a brotherhood of psyker unit, you nominate one guy to be the focus( incase perils and he dies) so I would think that as long as the target is the same then yes they can shoot the gun emplacement at it

    ReplyDelete
  6. This comment has been removed by the author.

    ReplyDelete
  7. A unit with Daemonic Instability has Mental Fortitude (Page 423 in BRB) cast on it. Does the unit no longer take Daemonic Instability tests, or does it not benefit from Mental Fortitude?

    ReplyDelete
  8. I think it really says a lot about GW the fact that a book, only a few weeks old is already in need of amending.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Is this your first codex release? Every codex needs some work at first printing... kinda like most MMOs need work at release. Sometimes the designers or playtesters don't think of all the angles, and it has to get picked apart by the hard-core rules lawyers before they notice the mistakes. Roll with it, man.

      Delete
    2. Callum - as Forphoenix says, inconsistencies are introduced. The concerns are when the writers don't seem to know the rules for their own game.

      Take the Juggernaught and Bloodletter saves (both irrelevant), or the Burning Chariot rules, or the Grey Knight dreadnought (it's 6 - to a maximum of ten) and Daemonettes having a BS at all, or why a Thirster is a crackshot yet no stronger than a Lord of Change. Or why the brass armoured cavalry of Khorne are made from papier mache.

      Delete
    3. No, addition and subtraction modifiers take effect at the same time so you work out the net effect (+3-4=-1) then apply that as a single modifier.

      Delete
    4. To answer your question, no this is not my first codex. That would be 4th edition Necrons, when they themselves were brand new.
      I understand what you're saying. But if I pay $83 AUD for a book, I expect it to be of the highest achievable quality, which has been the case in terms of design but not necessarily content.
      Take for example Dark Angels, there's typos, clear oversights and even the inclusion of a useless special rule, amongst other thing.
      Clarifications that can be simply made in the book (ie. stating that Plague Zombies could add addition numbers etc.), just straight out should be. Of course there'll always be power gamers and misinterpretations which I totally understand.
      The fact that a 2-3 three week old book is in such need of oversight/loophole is frustrating, of course not gaming ruining but not what I'd come to hope for my money.

      Delete
  9. Here is one to add:

    If a Blood Thirster or Daemon Prince roll Iron Hide result for the Greater gift roll and have Warp Forged Armour, do they get a re-roll?

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Nope, it's like if you get a rule from the warlord chart you already have - you just got unlucky

      Delete
  10. From what I can see I don't think this has been asked yet although the answer may be straightforward:-

    The Bloodthirsters' Axe of Khorne is a magical weapon from the lesser reward table. Does this prevent it from selecting an Etherblade (0:Magical Weapon) from the same table?

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. no, you can take the etherblade if you want

      Delete
  11. I really hope they FaQ it to allow more synergy between CSM and the daemons codex. Even if it is just to allow Epi to effect Daemons with Mark of Nurgle with the tally. Would make him a hell of a lot more viable than he is now.

    ReplyDelete
  12. Here is a potentially stupid question. If Skarbrand (or any other character) is taken as a HQ in an allied detachment, do they still benefit from their warlord trait as it is listed in their profile?

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. No, warlords are only in the primary detatchement. This applies to all tjree 6th ed. Codices so far as well. In Allies your warlord traits are not used.

      Delete
  13. Oliver BeinlichMarch 4, 2013 at 11:35 AM
    What happens to a unit that has their initiative reduced to 0 or below by fiends? Can they still strike at Initiative 1 or do they forgo all attacks the first round of combat?

    As an addition to this, does the MODEL having Initiative zero, making him unable to attack, prevent a model with an unwieldy weapon from striking (as unwieldy states that they strike at this time, NOT that they BECOME initiative 1)

    ReplyDelete
  14. Does unit that were killed by sweaping advance count as wound for the tally of pestilance? If I instan death a swarm with 3 wound. Does it count as +3 wound for the tally?.

    ReplyDelete
  15. I have a two part question:
    1. When a character casts a witchfire spell that requires a to hit roll, do they benefit from the precision shots rule (pick target on a to-hit roll of a 6)?
    2. If so, when a unit of pink horrors cast there psychic power using the squad leader as the point of origin, does he get to benefit from precision shots?

    Sorry if this has been answered before somehow, but I didn't see anything the the rulebook FAQ.

    ReplyDelete
  16. There is a designer note that states your 4 for the slots of 1 heralda can form a unit together. Can your second 4 heralds on 2000pts join that same unit? 8 heralds could be fun...

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Yeah, that design note isn't really adding new rules, just reminding that ic can join other ic to form a unit. As long as you have more ic to add, the independent character katamari cannot be stopped!

      Delete
  17. Does the Grimoir of True names require line of sight. It isn't a shooting attack, it isn't a psychic power. I wonder would this work on Daemon CSM units inside transports?

    ReplyDelete

 
Top
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...