49 Comments:

  1. I tried to read that translation and my head hurts now. OW!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. It's almost as bad as hitting yourself with a baltine ahmmer

      Delete
    2. ball-peen hammer.

      Delete
    3. No, given the context, it was correct the first time.

      Delete
  2. Can anyone who can actually speak german and english do a translation? :P

    ReplyDelete
  3. the wd chaos daemons now use the codex: chaos daemons daemon special rule instead of the rulebook special daemon rule

    ReplyDelete
  4. I'm german so I hope I got the correct link for the FAQ.
    The Hellflayer(?) of Slaanesh got changed to BS 4 and gets fleet.
    Thats the only noteworthy new thing I think.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. that's already in 1.1 iirc

      Delete
    2. Almost all of the changes (in red) are just bringing the German version up to date with English 1.1

      Delete
  5. This comment has been removed by the author.

    ReplyDelete
  6. It's almost certainly going to stay German-only, and is just fixing translation errors and typos.

    This clause is at the beginning of every single FAQ document:

    "Where a version number has a letter, E.g. 1.1a, this means it has had a local update, only in that language, to clarify a translation issue or other minor correction."

    ReplyDelete
  7. If the codex daemon special rules are being used does that mean flames and screamers have no save!?
    Please tell me they have included a invun in the faq

    ReplyDelete
  8. Ok, I'll give it a shot.
    I guess all the "red" marked paragraphs are the new ones so I'll only translate those.

    White Dwarf 200, August 2012, official update: Chaosdeamons
    Always use the special rule "Demonic" from the Codex: Chaosdeamons instead of the "Deamon" special rule.


    Page 27 - Demonic attack
    Change the second paragraph as follows: No model in a contigent, from the Codex: Chaosdeamons, gets placed on the table while deployment. All units have to come from reserves. You have to declare if an Idependant Character joins any unit. Your opponent deploys as usual, also every unit in your army that is not from the Codex: Chaosdeamons deploys as usual as well.
    Change the first sentence of the third paragraph as follows: At the beginning of your first turn you have to divide each contigent from the Codex: Chaosdeamons in two groups, which have to contain the same amount of units if possible.


    Page 49 - Fateweaver, Oracle of eternity
    Change the first sentence as follows: Fateweaver himself and all friendly units from the Codex: Chaosdeamons within 6 inches may reroll all failed armor- , invul.- and coversaves.


    Page 73 - Deamon gifts, Chaos icons
    Change the second paragraph as follows: Friendly units from the Codex: Chaosdeamons do not scatter if they deepstrike within 6 inches of a chaos icon. As long as the icon was on the board already at the beginning of that turn.


    Page 74 - Gifts of Tzeentch, Souldevourer
    Replace the entire text after the first sentence by the following:
    Range: - Strenght= user AP=3 Melee, Souldevourer



    Souldevouring: If a Model loses at least one wound by melee attacks of a deamon, that model has to do a leadership test for every wound lost that way. If the model fails any of the leadership test, it gets instant killed.



    The Hellflayer of Slaanesh got its BS changed to 4.



    The Hellflayer of Slaanesh gains "fleet".



    The exalted courtesan may not disembard from the Hellflayer, if the Hellflayer gets destroyed you have to remove the courtesan as well.



    Hunter(?)chariot of Slaanesh and exalted Hunter(?) chariot got their BS changed to 4.

    Q&A:


    Q:If Deamons are allied to CSM, do the deamons scatter if they deepstrike within 6 inches of a chaos icon carried by a CSM?
    A:If the description of the CSM chaos icon says " all allied/friendly units" then they do not scatter.


    Since I'm not into chaos deamons I am not really sure what of this is acutally new...

    Well I hope i could help you out.

    regards

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. The part about the icons doesn't really help....the CSM icons no longer have ANYTHING in their description about units not scattering...

      Delete
    2. Hm I totally forgot about the new icons :D

      Delete
  9. It's up in english.

    ReplyDelete
  10. http://www.games-workshop.com/MEDIA_CustomProductCatalog/m2750012a_Chaos_Daemons_v1.2.pdf

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Am I crazy, or does the new FAQ state that ALL models have a 5+ Invul?...

      Delete
    2. Nope that is what it says. Which implies that the Soul Grinder now has a 5++, as does every other model, even though other models already have 4++ or 3++ (Horrors and Fateweaver). Of course, they can only benefit from one invuln, so the better applies...

      Delete
  11. Hopefully it's not intended so all Daemons, inclusive Greater Daemons, now only have a 5+ Invulnerable save?

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Daemons from the Chaos Daemons codex will have all the rules stated in the Daemonic Assault section of their dex. This doesnt restrict them from improving their invuln through other means like daemonic gifts and MOT etc. Daemons from OTHER dexes must follow the special rule "Daemons" from the rulebook. Meaning they ONLY get a 5+ invuln and Fear. Nothing else. So your daemon princes from CSM dex,daemon engines,avatar(I think its still classified a demon), etc get the rules from the rulebook. Models from the Chaos Daemons dex get the rules under Daemonic Assault.

      Delete
  12. Models with the "Demons" rule from the chaos space marine codex get only a 5+ invuln and cause fear. Models with the "Demons" special rule from the Chaos Demons Codex get a 5+ invuln,cause fear, have eternal warrior etc as per the rules in the codex itself. Basically this FAQ is saying that Chaos Demons codex > Rulebook when it comes to the "Demon" special rule. So yes, that means that the daemons from the two different dexes have different rules. Pretty simple concept here.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Edit: "Chaos Demons codex > Rulebook when it comes to the "Demon" special rule for models chosen from the Chaos Daemons codex."

      Delete
    2. The FAQ says ALL models from the Chaos Demons codex have a 5+ invul save. Do models with a lower invul like Fateweaver overrule this FAQ language?

      Delete
    3. No, their upgrades dont change, their upgrades state that their save is upgraded from anyplace else....meaning it overrides the save given to them by their unit type, IE "Daemons". Why would you think it would be any different?

      Delete
  13. i am not sure about this but, if you use the spedial rule from the codex demonic, it means that chaos demons got again their save roll improved, with the demon special rule, ift got nerfed in most cases from 4+ to 5 +, now it would go again to for instance 4+??it makes a bit of sense as having a 5+ save even when it is invul, is an utter shit

    ReplyDelete
  14. i mean, demon special rule brb:5+ invul save....vs demonic chaos demon codex special rule: treat save roll on unit stats as invul, eternal warrior and fear, the fact is that a lot of units got 4+ save roll, for instance pink horrors, flamers of tzeench and so on, so they go bak to their old ( and betrer save vs , the universal 5+ from 6 th ed brb special rule?

    ReplyDelete
  15. clearly stated on faqs in english is all models get 5+ invul...

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Yes but the codex also specifically says what units get an improved invul save (such as Fate-weaver having a 3+ invul save due to a special rule in his unit entry). In that case, those units still have the improved invul save.

      -Yriel

      Delete
    2. Well, RAW actually weaver only has a 5+ I guess but a demon prince with a MoT has a 4+, odd.

      Delete
    3. Exactly Yriel, daemons with the mark of tzeench or tzeenchie daemons have a 4+ invun as per the codex. This FAQ just confirms that all daemons who don't have either of the above have a 5+ invun

      Delete
    4. What page of the codex does it say Tzeench daemons get a 4+?

      Delete
    5. Correct anon 5:10pm. and Anon 5:18pm, under the rules for Mark of Tzeentch it says that their invulnerable save gets improved by 1, hence 4+.

      Delete
    6. Unfortunately that only aplies to Daemon Princess... "If a daemon Prince is given the Mark..." pg.76

      Delete
  16. What do these Hellflayers and Chariots of Slaneesh need an BF for? Why is it so important to FAQ this - any Hints? I mean: they Cant shoot...

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. For Heralds of Slaanesh with Pavine.

      Delete
  17. It was to clean up the rules in the Daemons White Dwarf update which stated models were daemons but were not given any saves. From now on all daemons in codex Chaos Daemons (including Soul Grinders) now have a 5+ invul. save.

    ReplyDelete
  18. maybe they will ;)

    ReplyDelete
  19. It says they have the army rule daemon which gives them an invulnerable and 5++. This clearly is to cover the demonic vehicles that have no save in the codex. Nowhere does it state the current rule doesn't apply. In fact it states the opposite, that the codex rules for daemons apply with additions. As you can only have one inv save you pick best (like terminator armour and iron halo). The demonic engines don't have a save and cam ones do. That is all that rule is for.

    ReplyDelete
  20. so what is the invul save of flamers?

    ReplyDelete
  21. *Takes a breath*:

    ''Q: Do models chosen from Codex: Chaos Daemons and/or the White Dwarf, August 2012, Codex: Chaos Daemons official update have the Daemon special rule from the Warhammer 40,000 Rulebook, or do they have the Daemon army special rule from Codex: Chaos Daemons?
    (p27)

    A: All models from Codex: Chaos Daemons and/or the White
    Dwarf, August 2012, Codex: Daemons official update have the Daemon army special rule listed in Codex: Chaos Daemons WITH THE ADDITION of the Fear special rule from the Warhammer 40,000 rulebook and a 5+ invulnerable save.''

    Emphasis mine.

    Now, as we all know, Codex trumps rulebook in terms of special rules and as the Daemon Codex says ''Saves listed on a model's profile are invulnerable''

    Ergo Fateweaver has a 3++ save (from the codex profile) and a 5++ save from the FAQ.

    Models may have more than one invulnerable save (Terminator armour and stormshield for example) but always have to use the best save available to them.

    So Fateweaver HAS to use his 3++ (even if you wanted to use the 5++ for some unknown reason), Greater Daemons have a 4++ (from their Codex profile) as do Horrors etc etc.

    'With the addition' means something has been added.

    ''A bowl of bananas with the addition of apples'' doesn't mean the the bananas have suddenly become apples, that they've spliced into some fruit-fusion or anyother random conclusion. It means apples with some bananas.

    I can understand how some people might be trying to use the FAQ to achieve certain things, such as 'nerfing' Fateweaver, but all the FAQ does is add a 5++ to models that don't have a save in their profile (such as screamers and flamers) and adds the fear rule to all the Daemons.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I agree.

      By the way: "So Fateweaver HAS to use his 3++ (even if you wanted to use the 5++ for some unknown reason),"

      One reason to willingly use the 5++ could be an effekt that forces you ro reroll sucsessfull Invulsaves (Spacemarine Psithingy for example); you would then roll say: 3,4,5 - you have to reroll 3 and 4 because fateweaver can reroll his unsucsessfull saves - and you are ony forced to reroll that 5 and have the chance of failing only once.
      But this is academic, because you are not allowed to use the 5++, as you correctly stated. You have to use your best Save.

      Delete
    2. Hmm, upon reading this a secound time i guess i should do the math before posting...

      Delete
    3. Yes

      Using RAW the FAQ says chaos daemons have the special rules listed in the codex with the ADDITION of fear and a 5++.

      codex daemons p.27, invulnerable special rule

      "if the profile of a model in this army includes a Save (SV) characteristic, this is it's Invulnerable save."

      At no point does it say the 5++ replaces the "invulnerable" special rule listed on P27. Nor does it say to ignore the save characteristics listed in the codex. However it does say the 5++ is in addition to the codex special rules.

      Delete
  22. sorry if someone posted this already, but the english one is up now. daemons version 1.2

    ReplyDelete

 
Top
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...