With all the talk about the faq in German, there is not one in English. Its short, and I will include a link here as well as posting it.



FAQs
Q: Do models chosen from Codex: Chaos Daemons and / or the White
Dwarf, August 2012, Codex: Chaos Daemons official update have the
Daemon special rule from the Warhammer 40,000 Rulebook, or do they
have the Daemon army special rule from Codex: Chaos Daemons?
(p27)

A: All models from Codex: Chaos Daemons and/or the White
Dwarf, August 2012, Codex: Daemons official update have the
Daemon army special rule listed in Codex: Chaos Daemons
with the addition of the Fear special rule from the Warhammer
40,000 rulebook and a 5+ invulnerable save.

http://www.games-workshop.com/MEDIA_CustomProductCatalog/m2750012a_Chaos_Daemons_v1.2.pdf

35 Comments:

  1. I already thought it worked this way.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Sadly people were trying to cheat other player out of the rules. It started to get big on a few forums and it was very pathetic and it was obvious to most players.

      Delete
    2. I strongly disagree with your notion that players were "cheating" by saying that. The way my game store saw it was codex trumped rulebook for the definition of what a daemon is.

      Delete
    3. I know in my fight club, our Daemons players were getting into aruguments with some of the other guys who said that they follow the Daemon rule in the rulebook and not the codex.

      One guy even said they no longer deepstrike because the rulebook didn't say it....

      Delete
  2. Soul grinders rejoice! This definitely makes me think about adding a grinder to my walkers of doom list (3 helbrutes + 2 forge fiends + defiler) that I am building towards. A little AV 13 is pretty nice, especially deep striking in.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. My FLGS also has an assembled and primed plague hulk in a display case...must...quash...urge..to buy...

      Delete
    2. Yeah, those things are absolutely SICK looking and I'll definitely buy one when I have that much money lying around collecting dust.....

      Delete
  3. I'm surprised and glad they haven't nerfed the Epidemius "Tally Rule" to only include kills made by models in the Daemons Codex. (After all, they nerfed Fateweaver.)

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I don't think Fateweaver is a good analogue to Epi though, Fate only affected daemons prior to 6th (simply because you didn't have allies), whereas Epi's rule has always affected all daemons and units with mark of nurgle or dedication to nurgle, friend or foe. That meant that in a mono-nurgle army going up against death guard, kills by those units on both sides would add to the tally, and both sides received benefits from the tally. This just takes that to its logical extension. Honestly, its not that game breaking of an ability, only because it relies on epi being alive and on the table (And I notice there wasn't a FAQ question for what to do if you only have 1 unit in your list due to allies, do you roll for the Epi+plague bearer unit and if you fail to get your primary wave start with nothing coming in turn 1? Or does he auto drop?)

      Delete
    2. In the brb an independent character is still counted as a separate unit for the purposes of the 50% reserve rule.

      Delete
    3. The Daemons Codex disagrees with you in the Daemonic Assault Rules.

      Delete
    4. Even with the daemon assault the 50% rule still applies. You would still have epedimius deep striking separate from his unit if you only took him and one troop choice. If you took 2 troops you could keep him with a unit.

      Delete
    5. 50% reserve rule only applies to units that are voluntarily placed in reserve. 100% of a daemon army MUST be placed in reserve with half of them turning up on turn one.

      Delete
    6. surely if he has joined the unit they drop down together - simple really

      Delete
  4. They auto-drop, unless Epidemius isn't attached to the unit.

    ReplyDelete
  5. well this sorts out the confusion with Flamers and Screamers not having saves.

    -DAMO.R

    ReplyDelete
  6. Yeah,in other languages the FAQ is too^_^

    ReplyDelete
  7. Now is the August WD update available in PDF anywhere?

    ReplyDelete
  8. soulgrinders do not get the inv save, they have their own clarification for the daemon rule, and their own faq for it.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. What's hard to understand about "all models"?

      Delete
    2. The new wording gives all models a 5++ save that has nothing to do with the daemon rule.

      The soulgrinders special rule just specifies what it get from being a daemon.

      Thus a SG now has a 5++ :-)

      Delete
    3. All codex/wd models get the daemon special rule, always did: which includes fearless, invulnerable, daemonic assault, daemonic rivalry. 6th came with another daemon special rule which all daemons get a 5 plus invulnerable and fear. Daemons from the codex and wd, get them both. Soulgrinders, further limit the daemon special rule, which applies to both, all soulgrinders get from any daemon special rule is to deploy like all other daemons, immune to shaken and stunned, and fear (faq).

      The new faq changes nothing, it simply tells you that daemons from the codex and wd get both the codex and brb daemon special rules. Unfortunately for the souldgrinder, it has it's own special rule which further limits any daemon special rule. The soulgrinder was faq'd to include fear, from the new brb description of the daemon special rule, it did not include the 5 plus invulnerable.

      You can want the soulgrinder to have a 5 plus inv, wont change that it doesn't.

      Delete
  9. So do Flamers have a 4++ or 5++?

    ReplyDelete
  10. they have a 5+ with 2 wounds and are eternal warriors.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Flamers still get the benefit from tzeentch. Its a 4++.

      Delete
    2. Sorry but they don't have a Mark. This is not CSM.

      Delete
    3. The 4+ only applies to daemon princes taking the mark. Its very specific. So 5+ they are now

      Delete
    4. They don't get the old stat line that had 4+ in it, now that part of the stat line says -.

      Delete
    5. Yes but now they use BOTH Daemon rules from the codex and BRB it clearly states they have a 5+ save.

      I know it sucks they dont get a 4+ anymore but with an extra wound, gaining Fear and a points drop its a fair trade.

      Also on the subject of Daemons i really hope they get their new stuff in January as rumoured and aparently the Plastic Great Unclean One looks amazing but what i really want is a Lord of Change!!!

      on a summary note here is the RUMOURED releases for daemons:

      -New Codex for both 40k and WFB (Adam Troke is the author i believe)

      -All 4 Greater Daemons in plastic (i believe it will be 2 with the codex and 2 in the second wave)

      -Plastic Furies/Warp Stalkers (as rumoured on that huge leaked release list)

      -New Tzeentch Charriot model

      -New Khorne Charriot model (Believed to be a combi kit that can be made as some sort of daemonic artillery platform, probably pulled by Juggernaughts)

      2 Special characters that have not had models yet will be getting them (Ku'gath and Skarbrand???)

      You guys have probably already heard this though and im just late to the party but hey im definetley looking forward to this!!!

      -DAMO.R

      Delete
    6. Isn't having a 4++ and a 5++ a bit similar to having an iron halo and a storm shield? You have both, but use the better one?

      I think 4++ still works for those units which have it already.

      Delete
    7. The problem is that the WD supplement removed the 4++ from the Screamers and Flamers and left it as "-" . So since they no longer have any save on their profile they get the 5++.

      Delete
  11. Thank you Tabyrd!

    ReplyDelete
  12. A real quick one - are pink horrors still 4+ invulnerable? Or are they now 5+ Invuln?

    Thanks

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Pink horrors technically have both saves now....so the 4++ takes precedence.

      Delete

 
Top
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...