Time to get down and dirty. Those that have followed my Dark Eldar Tacticas in the past know that I do like some crazy suicidal things in my lists. (not all the time, I just find them fun). Hence my ramming raiders in 5th edition, and my overdosing Archons in 3rd.

So I am going to start off with what by far is probably the biggest and craziest do not do tactic, something I have named Wych Bombs. Is this something I will attempt in 6th edition?.... yes, and already have. (it did not get off the first time trying).

Lets get into the rules first, so I can explain why this works before letting the cat out of the bag.

Fast skimmers have changed a little in 6th edition. By this I mean they move 12" in the movement phase, and can then move flat out in the shooting phase up to 18". Add in Enhanced Aether Sails and you get some extra distance in the movement phase. (there is a rules problem with aether sails which I will get to in a few minutes).

Its important to note that in 6th edition, if you crash your fast skimmer while going flat out, you do not lose all the models embarked on your transport any more.

So lets load up our raider with wyches. 10 would work the best of you can pull this off, and if not, well, smaller numbers might do something. Next we load up our wyches with no special weapons, however we give them haywire grenades.

The next important rules section, is that open topped vehicles are considered to be assault vehicles. This means that if you disembark you can assault. Normally this is a 6" raider move, + 6" unit move + assault. However, reading the assault vehicles rules, you can charge even on a turn that the vehicle was destroyed.

Some of you know where I am going. Here are some page numbers for you.
Assault vehicle rule rule pg 33
open top vehicles pg 82
fast skimmers pg 83
embarking and disembarking pag 78
effects of damage on passengers pg 80

So you take your fast skimmer and haul it flat out into some terrain near the enemy lines, you roll a 1, which immobilizes and of course wrecks your raider. The effects of damage on passengers clearly states that you must immediately disembark in the usual manner (even if its in the shooting phase from going flat out). Now because you are an assault vehicle, your units can now assault from the wreck. hence the Wych bomb goes off.

Now many of you are thinking this will never work. I didnt say it would. The wych bomb is simply one of those crazy suicidal tactics that if one went off, say you were fielding two or three of them, you could easily assault any vehicle within reach. More than likely wrecking several of them. Razor spam is still very prevalent and this type of tactic if it ever went off, would destroy it rather quickly.

Wych Bombs are definitely one of those do not try this at home tactics.

A final note on enhanced aethersails. If you wreck on the round that you use aethersails (meaning you fail your dangerous terrain test) all the passengers in your raider are dead according to the current rules. Aethersails very plainly (and hopefully this will be updated) say that you cannot disembark from a raider that has used enhanced aethersails. Since you cannot do any disembarkation your models are all lost according the current rules if it wrecks itself on terrain.

34 Comments:

  1. Interesting gamble, but I have a feeling that GW will FAQ for 6th as I dont think they envisioned this particular scenario. But we will see.

    Also DE rules need plenty of clarification for 6th. Do raiders chain snares work only in movement phase (as 5th edition rules state), or can they now be used in shooting phase when going flat out for example.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Yea, it will probably be FAQ'd soon. It's similar to the current discussions regarding assault vehicles and Deepstriling. Rules say that unit may assault the turn they diembarked so vehicles like Landraiders and Stormravens that deepstrike and disembark their units may have them assault the same turn.

      Delete
    2. Hrmmm... pg 36 says that units arriving by deep strike cannot assault the turn they arrive. It seems pretty clear to me that this overrides the 'may assault after disembarking' for assault vehicles.

      Delete
    3. they don´t need to faq it... you can´t assault out of a vihicle that moved more than 6" or after disembarging from destroyed vehicle

      also this is (if it would be allowed) a 1 in 6 chance gamble that also depends on terrain being there and wastin a vehicle... its complet BS

      its said people post "tactics" like this becaus some new players will buy the units and make a fool out of themselves


      Delete
    4. Actually the rules for assault vehicle (p33) explicitly state that you can charge and assault after a vehicle with this rule is destroyed.

      I agree with the statement about assaulting from a deep striking transport though. You cannot assault on the same turn you deep strike regardless of method of deep striking. But here is where a FAQ is needed to plug any loop holes.

      Delete
    5. its clearly not inteded to somehow tankshock or terrain kill youre transport in order to assault...its actually been FAQed in 5th that after a vehicle gets destroyed you can not assault in that same playerturn.

      its really a shame we always have people trying to bend the rules just becaus smth should or could be FAQed

      Delete
  2. hmm, when you wreck your raider, not many wyches will survive the S3 hits ... :/

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. There are no S3 hits unless it explodes.

      Delete
    2. And it's S4 hits now. You really don't want Wyches in or near an exploding vehicle.

      Delete
    3. But the Raider is wrecked, not exploded in the above scenario. Wyches will not get hurt and will disembark safely.

      Delete
  3. How do you lose both HPs on the dangerous terrain test?

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Skimmers that suffer an immobilized result when moving flat out are still automatically wrecked (regardless of remaining HP).

      Delete
    2. This comment has been removed by the author.

      Delete
  4. The wording on disembarking (pg 79) seem somewhat unclear to me regarding having moved flat out. This is the only restriction I find on disembarking after having moved and it says that you cannot disembark (presumably at all) after having moved more than 6". On the next page under 'Wrecked' it says that models that cannon disembark are removed as casualties. I don't think its the intended meaning, but to me, it reads that if you blow up a vehicle that moved more than 6" all the passengers die! I'm not trying to rules lawyer cause this would be a silly interpretation and I would never suggest following it, just saying that it seems unclear to me.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. The cannot disembark but refers to impassible terrain, being within 1" of an enemy etc.

      On a different note, emergency disembarkation is only 3", not 6" so ud have to crash it daily close to the enemy to pull it off.

      Also it's only a 1/6 chance to wreck yourself, so u may aswell save the raider and flat out into cover for the decent jink save and then move into position next turn

      Delete
    2. Sorry, I was referring to the paragraph immediately under the disembarking header that states "A unit ... can disembark ... so long as the vehicle has not moved more than 6"."

      Delete
    3. In my view if a vehicle gets wrecked in your own turn, then the rules for emergency disembarkation should apply if the vehicle moved more than 6" (since troops cannot disembark) meaning that they cannot do anything for the rest of the turn.

      The clue here is the USR assault vehicle that states that a unit may still charge from a vehicle that was destroyed in their own turn (due to a ram attack gone wrong, Death or Glory move, or being wrecked or destroyed, implying that a transport that is destroyed the unit inside cannot then assault etc.

      I know the rules do not state this explicitly, and we really need a FAQ on this, but to me it makes sense that any unplanned leaving of a vehicle should be considered an emergency disembarkation.

      Delete
  5. WTF did I just read? Are you being serious Natfka? This is utter madness!! Why would someone even try this out? I don't know whether to laugh or cry XD.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. To be fair, the exact same tactic used to work in 5th, until GW FAQed it out of the game. I'm surprised it managed to sneak back into 6th. But I guess that's GW consistency for you. "Why fix something when it can remain broken... again."

      Delete
    2. How does a tactic that relies on rolling 1's on sigle D6s exactly work. How is that exactly broken. You do that against any marine list and you're done for good. Not to mention a guard or tau list. The wyches will be shot to pieces in 1 or 2 turns. End of the party.

      And by the way, I don't see the fun of exploiting the game's mistakes.

      Delete
    3. It would be a tactical gamble indeed, but not one to hinge your entire game upon. If you target a Monolith or landraider, then you can perhaps screw up your opponents tactics. If you take out a tank or two that has a large volume of fire, the sacrifice of your wyches could increase the survivability of your Kabalite warriors or other units. As a tactical gamble it has its place, but I wouldnt want to put my faith in a 1/6 chance of success at the beginning of a battle.

      Delete
  6. Brilliant, these are the kind of tactics i love to read!!! never competitive but when you play your friends they have no idea what you are doing and BAM!! all game plans out of the window.
    Ramshackle works in a similar way for orks you can kareen well over the 6" but still disembark at the end.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I used to do this a couple of times back in 5th by deliberately ramming stuff with a high AV, then kareening off in another direction and attacking afterwards with the boyz who just enjoyed the ride of their life - good times ^^

      Delete
  7. 10 Wyches with haywires, riding in a Raider: 180 pts

    vs

    Razorback with las/plas: 75 pts

    Fun tactic, but unless you are going after a Land Raider or something equivalent, not very cost-effective.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I don't get it. You're comparing 10 guys in a transport to a transport alone.

      Delete
    2. Usually earns its points by going after a spam list, so you're assaulting multiple razorbacks, without having to worry about the new penalties worked into multi-assault. Not to mention if your opponent is mech heavy they will have to deal with that unit before moving on to anything else, which gives you time to bring up your other wyches. My favorite units are sometimes not the ones that get their points worth of kills, but that draw their points worth of fire. I had a friend I always talked into running Abbadon against other people, not because he was a beatstick, his almost always rolled 1 for his weapon and just slapped himself in the face, but because nobody but me would leave him on the field. 10 Wyches hiding behind the wreckage of a razorback or two in your opponent's tank line can serve a similar purpose.

      Delete
    3. @Anon: I'm comparing it that way because the second that Razor dies and the marines pile out of it, those wyches are dead.

      @Vol: Even knocking out 2 such Razors would leave it an uneven trade. Killing 3 Razors? Extremely unlikely.

      Delete
  8. Sounds fun!

    And if your Raider doesn't roll 1 on the difficult terrain test, you can either tank shock enemies or ram a tank or two.

    Or pick up the Wyches and go after another target.

    ReplyDelete
  9. Only a robot posts at 2 am....

    ReplyDelete
  10. I use haywire Wyches religiously in 6th as that many haywire nades hitting on a 3+ and 5 times out of 6 stripping a hull point is fool proof. tricky getting them in sometimes, pray that Jink save keeps you healthy and make sure you have a lot of things up close and personal they can shoot at to distract them too. increasing the threat range by getting as much stuff up close and personal as you can helps keep those raiders from being the focus target. works extremely well but pray you don't roll too many 6's to penetrate, exploding vehicles are notorious at taking out poor wyches.

    ReplyDelete
  11. Hey Nat, if you're still looking at this post, this had me looking at close combat DE again and I realized some fun. Malys has a pseudo-missile weapon now that grenades can be thrown. Don't have the BRB, (waiting for my box to arrive with the little one :/ ) so I'm not sure how it would work out.

    ReplyDelete
  12. Personally, I love this type of imagination. If players want to gamble with things like this, I say congrats if it works.

    Lets not FAQ imagination out of the game! Those units have to place themselves in vulnerable spots. There is more % it doesn't work. Not broken.

    ReplyDelete
  13. I've been flying mine around in Venoms and Raiders tooled up with chain-snares, shock prows and the like and just zooming them over units until they get a good target of opportunity, or the vehicle gets trashed and the wyches just go for the nearest target.

    I tried the ram-raider tactic and it was hilarious, but I kept my wyches on board.

    Nice to see something that looks fun and might actually work from time to time rather than the usual waac stuff. Nice :)

    ReplyDelete

 
Top
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...