This post is out of date, please refer to this link for corrected and up to date information regarding pskyer battle squads..
http://www.natfka.blogspot.com/2012/01/officers-orders-and-psyker-battle.html

OMG!!!!, Nerf Bat swinging swinging gone.......

OK, thats my dramatic line for the year. In truth the new FAQ hit me in the groin, but I'm still standing. Enough whinning and complaining, its time to adapt. Lets look at the two rules that effect my loved and most coddled favorite Imperial Guard unit.


Number One:
Q: Can Weaken Resolve target an enemy unit that is locked in close combat? (p47)
A: Yes.

OK, this one I figured out some time ago, so is not really news. By analyzing, and reading the rules after a tournament lost, it was pretty obvious that this could be done. If I had known at that time, it would of been game over, and a victory. It comes down to this from the main IG codex.

Choose one enemy unit within 36" and line of sight of the pskyer battle squad.

Thats all you really need, since weaken resolve is not a psychic shooting attack, and there is no need to target the unit, you simply choose one you can see. I beleive this was discussed briefly on a post about 6 months ago here. I am glad they put this up though, as it solves any "surprise, look what I can do" disagreements. Good ruling GW.

Number Two:
Here is how I have been using my pskyer battle squads. Give them a dedicated chimera transport and have them running around mid - back field zapping units with weaken resolve. Since weaken resolve is not a shooting attack, the chimera was running around 12" and using its weaken resolve at 36". This gives a ton of range for the ability. Now lets look at the current ruling.

Q: Can models embarked upon a vehicle use its fire points to draw line of sight to a unit to use special rules or wargear (other than shooting)? (p66)

A: No.

If a psyker battle squad wishes to run around in their chimera 6" or less, they can still fire a soulstorm out of the top, since it is a shooting attack. However, when it comes down to weaken resolve, the psyker battle squad must disembark to use this ability.

So what does that do for me on the table top? Well, it means just time to adjust tactics slightly. Is this a nerf, somewhat. After all my psyker battle squads now must disobey the first rule of an  Imperial Guardsman, "Stay the F*&^  in the Tank". 

While more vulnerable now that they must get out of the vehicle to do their thing, I must say I will not stop using this unit. Find some good area terrain, or move the chimera 12" rotate, and hide most of the unit behind the tank. Psyker Battle Squads still have their place on the 40k battlefield, at least in my armies.

17 Comments:

  1. What about the previous FAQ ruling? Which do you think takes precedence in this situation?

    "Psykers
    Q: Can a model use a psychic power that is not a
    Psychic Shooting Attack if it is embarked in a transport
    vehicle? (p50)
    A: Yes. If the power requires line of sight, this is still
    worked out from the vehicle’s fire points (this will
    count as one model shooting through that fire point if
    the power is used in the Shooting phase).
    If the psychic power does not require line of sight and
    has a range or an area of effect that is normally
    measured from the model using it, these are measured
    from the vehicle’s hull, as explained in the Embarking
    section on page 66."

    ReplyDelete
  2. Good catch Boxer Saint. So then would that make psykers abilities like weaken resolve work like normal from firing points?

    Then the question becomes... What is effected by this new faq ruling on firing points if pschic powers are not. It says special abilities and wargear. Some examles woud be?

    ReplyDelete
  3. Maybe something from the Necron codex? Something like Anrayker's ability to control an enemy vehicle, or some other strange ability they have?

    ReplyDelete
  4. Then there are Eldar players who cast doom, fortune, and guide out of wave serpents and falcons (which have no firing points).

    ReplyDelete
  5. The real question is: the FAQ works against "special rules"; does this include psychic powers?

    I'd say not, since they're separate sections of a unit entry, and because of the other FAQ ruling.

    Your sanctioned psykers are safe :)

    ReplyDelete
  6. Orders like Bring it Down would be, if it wasn't superseded by the codex chimera command vehicle rule.

    Maybe the +1BS for space wolf choosers of the slain? any other special rules like that?

    ReplyDelete
  7. This does neuter PBS's. It requires line of sight, thus a firing port...all of which is precluded by this. The other abilities referenced above do not require line of sight, and don't worry about this FAQ.

    ReplyDelete
  8. You can still "fire" your power and then shoot your pistols too.
    Och choose to run D6" back behind your wall of armour...

    ReplyDelete
  9. Psychic powers weren't affected by the FAQ. Only "special rules or wargear".

    ReplyDelete
  10. Psychic powers are special rules. Says it in ur codex, special rules psychic

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. They are not "special rules" - Psychic Powers and Special Rules are listed separately to each other (C:IG, pp47 & 94), you're probably thinking of the Psyker and Psychic Choir special rules. Added to this is another entry in the very same FAQ that states you *can* use non-shooting psychic powers from a vehicle's fire points.

      Delete
  11. I'm not normally one to gripe about things, but I do so love how I will never flat out my Dark Eldar raiders full of troops ever again.

    ReplyDelete
  12. last anon. Just don't end your movement on terrain and you cannot lose them all.

    ReplyDelete
  13. Yeah you can, if your transport moved flat out and gets killed they'll all die. per the new FAQ.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Aaaaand on the fifth read through I finally noticed the part that says "If it's destroyed in the movement phase that it moved flat out," apparently reading rules and cough medicine are a bad idea. Sorry all.
      Cheers

      Delete
    2. No worries. Thats why were are discussing the rules.

      Delete
  14. The way I read it... the new update states: "(other than shooting)" The Psykers ability requires LoS and is done during the shooting phase, its a valid attack. If you have a special ability or wargear on a model that can interrupt during one of the other phases, well your screwed.

    ReplyDelete

 
Top
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...