This is the best post I can find defining this issue with the new faq's. It seems to give the current line of thinking on the issue.


via Lehnsherr
What they are saying is that outside of the"Fire Points" section of the rulebook, you have no permission to use anything while embarked on a vehicle.

The Fire Points section gives you permission to shoot while embarked.

Then you look up "Open Topped" to determine how that specific rule interacts with "Fire Points" in order to be able to even fire to begin with.

The Open Topped section says to measure from the hull, as there are no "specific fire points" on an open topped vehicle.

In order to fire though, you still draw permission from the "Fire Points" section of the book, and according to the new FAQ which specifically mentions "Fire Points" Anrakyr can no longer use his ability while embarked on the CCB.

I think this is an issue that will be hanging around for awhile. In the end, I think an open topped vehicle is considered to be one large firepoint. Whether or not how many firepoints an open topped vehicle has, it still acts like one. But this arguement is a moot point really. Simply read below.

However this pretty much sums up the answer about what is needed to do anything from a firepoint.

via nosferatu1001
Is anrakyr using a power that ISNT shooting OR psychic and requires LOS? YEs

Is he embarked on a vehicle? Yes

If the answer to the two is Yes, then he cannot use the power - as it requires LOS and you cannot draw LOS from a vehicles firepoints

11 Comments:

  1. A friend of mine contacted GW regarding to this matter and this is the answer he got :

    "Open-topped transports treat the entire hull as a single fire point. I will make sure this is updated in the near future. "

    ReplyDelete
  2. Hey thats my Conversion! Can I get some credit, damn . Heh

    ReplyDelete
  3. LuckyNo.5 You sure can. I have not seen the entire conversion though, can you post up a link?

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. a link to his blog entry:
      http://eyeoferror.blogspot.com/2011/11/necron-week-post-2-custom-hq.html

      Delete
    2. Thanks Speedfreak, Natka, I wasn't like mad or anything. Just thought it was funny since I read your blog everyday.

      I was like "Hey that looks familier :P"

      Delete
    3. It's OK Lucky, I didn't know where it came from. I did a search for anrakyr pics, and that was what came up. Normally I do a quick check to see where it is coming from, but I was in a hurry.

      The conversion looks tight, especially after being able to go back and take a look at it. Thx speedfreek for the link.

      Delete
  4. sigh, good think we nerfed one of those points in the necron book that wasnt bad, wouldnt want them to do well...

    ReplyDelete
  5. This comment has been removed by the author.

    ReplyDelete
  6. Hey Natfka, your comments section seems different, is that something you changed or blogspot changed?

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Yeah, I noticed that a few days ago. Not sure what happened, but it looks better now.

      Delete
    2. Blogger made the changes. While I like it, it has confused the hell out of me.

      I generally do not read comments under the posts, but from an admin page, and this has made it very confusing trying to figure out what is being said. I'll get used to it.

      Delete

 
Top
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...