Subscribe Us

header ads

Shadowseer and Deathjester Rules Leaks!


Leaked images are out, and you can see the new rules from the Harlequin codex showing off the Shadowseer and Deathjester. These are two models most of us already have, and will easily get into the field quickly. I definitely like the new models as well, (will be getting a Shadowseer), but I also liked the older ones too.


Here is a link to their rules
http://descansodelescriba.blogspot.co.uk/2015/02/nuevos-adelantos-del-codex-arlequines.html?m=1



via a reader on Faeit 212
Shadow Seer, WS6 BS4 S3 T3 W2 I7 A3 LD10
-holosuit
-hallucinogenic grande launcher
-shuriken pistol
-mist stave
-flip belt

Special rules:
- fear
- fleet
- furious charge
- hit and run
- IC
- psyker (ML1) - can choose from Phantasmancy, sanctic Demonology, Telepathy

Can upgrade to level 2 for 25pts
Can take a neurodisruptor instead of shuriken pistol for 10 pts
Haywire for 5pts
Can take an item from the Enigmas of the Black Library list

Death Jester:WS5 BS5 S3 T3 W2 I7 A3 LD10
-holosuit
-shrieker cannon
-flip-belt

Special Rules:
-Fear
-Fleet
-Furious Charge
-hit and run
-IC
-precision shots

Can take haywire for 5, can take an item from the Enigmas of the Black Library list.

An enemy unit that suffers one or more wounds from the DJ in a shooting phase must immediately take a morale check as though they had taken 25% casualties, at -2 LD. If they fail the test, the DJ chooses in which direction they flee. If they continue to flee in subsequent rounds, they fall back towards their own table edge as usual.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 Formation 1:
2 units of skyweavers
1 unit of voidweavers

Reroll failed cover saves for any unit from this formation that chooses to flat out.

Formation 2:
1 Death Jester
1 Shadow Seer
1 Solitaire

Special Rules: infiltrate, stealth, shrouded

Models from this formation may not join other units, nor may other characters join them.

Formation 3:
1 Troupe
1 unit of skyweavers
1 unit of voidweavers

Beginning with turn 2, any unit in this formation with Fleet can both run and charge in the same turn.

Formation 4:
1 Troupe
1 Death Jester
1 Shadowseer

Restriction: DJ and SS cannot leave the troupe unit, and must be deployed as a single unit.

Special Rule: Crusader (roll 2D6 for run, pick which one to use; +d3" for sweeping advance)

Any model from codex Eldar or Dark eldar (both friend or enemy) within 6" of one or more models from this formation, also have the crusader special rule.

Formation 5:
3 Troupes
2 units of skyweavers
3 starweavers
1 unit of voidweavers

Restriction: Each troupe from this formation must take one of the starweavers from this formation as a dedicated transport.

If a troupe master from this formation is your warlord, you may re-roll your warlord trait from any of the warlord tables in Codex Harlies.

A troupe from this formation may Hit and Run directly into an unoccupied Starweaver from this formation, as long as the Hit and Run roll is sufficient, in inches, that all models from the unit including any characters attached to them end their Hit and Run move within 2" of the unoccupied Starweaver.

Furthermore, a troupe from this formation may Consolidate into an unoccupied Starweaver, assuming the Consolidate roll is sufficient in inches to place each model from the unit, including characters, within 2" of an unoccupied Starweaver.

Formation 6:
3 Troupes
3 Death Jesters
3 Shadowseers
1 Solitaire
2 units of Skyweavers
1 unit of Voidweavers

Reroll all invulnerable saves of 1 for the entire formation.

If a troupe master from this formation is your warlord, he may reroll his warlord trait on any of the warlord tables in Codex Harley Davidson.

Beginning on turn 2, all units from this formation with the Fleet special rule may run and charge in the same turn.

Post a Comment

70 Comments

  1. Yup, all of this just tells me I've made a good choice in buying as much harlies as I could :)

    ReplyDelete
  2. I like that the Death Jester got upgraded to BS 5, and the Seer upgraded to Ld 10 (especially needed for his powers). They are not OP, but got significantly better. We will see more of them on the table. I only used them in 8% of my battles. Now the Clowns will get the chance to dance on my table more often.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. LD Test was 6th. In 7th Its 4+ rolls of getting of powers.

      Delete
    2. I think he means he'll need Ld 10 to avoid perils as lots of the powers are warp charge 2 so you need to throw quite a few dice at them

      Delete
    3. No, there's at least one power from phantasmancy where you roll d6+leadership against the opponent's d6+leadership, presumably that's what they were referring to.

      Delete
  3. Replies
    1. What does the Shreiker cannon do?

      Delete
    2. Basically a Shuriken Cannon but with a completely pointless 1 shot fleshbane option that causes a small blast heavy flamer explosion if your 1 shot actually causes a casualty. What's the point of an ignores cover small blast triggered by a casualty from a non-ignoring cover shot. So the Deathjester appears to be the stand out terrible option in the codex. Given how weak the codex is over all and how limited your options are I was hoping they wouldn't have this one terrible unit. I was wrong obviously.

      Delete
    3. Its assault 1, fleshbane, S1 ap5 with bladestorm. If it kills a model, you center the small blast over it and the unit takes that many hits at S5 Ap4 as the enemy model explodes. If I read it right, it can also be shot like a normal shuriken cannon as well.

      Delete
    4. Actually it isn't Fleshbane is poisoned 2+. The significance of which being on bladestorm hit you'll be rerolling the wound against T5 and weaker.

      Delete
    5. The re-roll to wound for poison if S>T only applies in close combat. For all shooting attacks poison is counted as S1.

      Delete
    6. So what S & what AP is it?

      Sounds pretty horrible if Auswin is right.

      Delete
    7. I'm sorry but how is it pointless?

      Your almost guaranteed to hit, and get a strength 5 ap 4 blast that doesn't scatter if you kill what your shooting at which can be placed right into the middle of the enemy unit because it has Precision Shots IIRC.

      Sure, against space marines its meh, but there are also these other armies that you might have heard of called Astra Militarum, Orks, Tau, Tyranids, Eldar and Dark Eldar.

      It's meant to be used against infantry blobs, not bullet sponge units!

      Delete
    8. If you roll a 6 to hit you get to pick the target. If not it is the first guy. It is centred over him so with good spread won't hit anyone with a more clumped spread you may hit 1-2 guys tops. Not seeing who that is good against. Just shoot the normal gun you'll get more hits at higher strength with pseudo rending.

      Delete
    9. This comment has been removed by the author.

      Delete
    10. Actually pinky, it is up to interpretation. characters already had their shots be precision on a roll of a 6, so why would he need to have the precision shots rule in his profile? If the unit has precision shots in profile then I always play it as if they can always allocate their shots since that is what makes sense.

      Delete
    11. This comment has been removed by the author.

      Delete
    12. Oops, sorry about the profanity...

      Pinky, it's ok to be wrong, honey. The DJ is not necessarily a bad unit, don't be upset that it's not OP. Like most Eldar units it has situational advantage. But if you think it is mediocre, then that's ok too. There are several other army choices out there without mediocre units...

      Oh, wait, no there isn't...

      Nevermind. :)

      Delete
    13. Why use a 60p model with a squad (so he doesnt die) to pick off some non armour Non Cover Non inv. Enemy troop units? Its a meeeh character!

      Delete
    14. This comment has been removed by the author.

      Delete
    15. Because that 60 pt character can force the enemy to retrear into your solitaire?

      Delete
    16. Russ - characters having precision shots automatically is 6th edition. They do not have that in 7th and must actually have the rule.

      Delete
    17. Ah, apologies. This old mind sometimes has tricky played on it from to long exposure to the warp. Thank you Skull Leader for pointing that out.

      Delete
  4. codex Harley Davidson ?! Formation 6 btw.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. That was me just being cheeky, obviously it's codex harlequins

      Delete
    2. Two points from Gryffindor, for sheer cheek!

      Delete
  5. Formation 4, add Webway character of your choice and have fun!

    ReplyDelete
  6. 60 Points for the Deathjester?!?!!? Why even bother making the new model with that cost? 30 points makes him a real option, 40 would be semi viable as a fluff choice. But 60 is a complete waste he makes the Skyweavers seem excellent value!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. You seem to be ignoring his special rules. If the Deathjester causes even one wound on a model in a big shooting unit, there's every chance he can make them run straight towards a Troupe that was otherwise to far away to reliably charge them. On the other hand, if that unit is near a table edge, he can make them flee off it and potentially destroy an entire unit with one shot. Even LD 8 or 9 Marines will have cause to be very nervous if they're anywhere near a flank with a Deathjester around.

      Delete
    2. the fuck? ... he is 60pts for a 2w bs5 gunner that will kill stuff at poisonous(2+) and makes your opponent fly you way on a failed Ld test ... not to mention he is IC he is far from a pointless choice

      Delete
    3. Plus the shadowseer mask relic, and archons with armor of misery (a very common ally choice for these guys, I'm betting), will stack...meaning the resulting LD test from the Death Jester is at -6 LD. Yeah, I don't care who you are...you're running.

      Delete
    4. Deathjester means that your opponent runs TOWARDS you on a failed Ld (Stupid easy to force with Harlies)

      Delete
    5. @Nick Powell: What if I am fearless? I'm not runnign then! MUAHAHAH! :P

      And the "run that way" ability means you can position the enemy i such a way that they will get charged by some Troops!

      Delete
    6. Too much largely ignores the run away ability. Yeah he can help you get charges particularly dovetailing with the mask. But him and a Shadowseer in a unit means no transport.

      Lets compare him to those Jetbikes we were all underwhelmed by. For 10 points less you get largely the same but better toughness, 4+ armour, better manoeuvrability, ability to JSJ AND a S6 ap2 one off blast, you lose 1 point of bs and the morale rule. For me the underwhelming standard jetbikes are far better for the points. Yes you can do stuff with him but it is largely irrelevant stuff considering how many armies ignore chunks of it (like stubborn armies, fearless armies both flat ignore it, it does a nice d6 S4 extra hits on Orks, largely nothing except allowing charges that you probably get on nonDA marines) which means it is effective against perhaps Crons when you pump even more points into it, other Eldar and Tau. The last one being its real use as you can mess with support fire.

      Delete
    7. Jeeesh... Have a Snikers, Pinky, you're playing like Betty White.

      Don't let your negativity consume you.

      Delete
  7. Death jester making you run THE WRONG WAY

    The levels of trolling are stunning XD

    Anyone knows his weapon's profile though?

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Like an shuriken cannon with pinning. And another type of shot that if a model is killed then the model explodes and hurts others around

      Delete
    2. Like an shuriken cannon with pinning. And another type of shot that if a model is killed then the model explodes and hurts others around

      Delete
    3. It has two fire modes. One as a shuriken cannon, the other as a S1 AP5, fleshbane assault 1. If it wounds an enemy model, place the small blast over the model and the unit takes that many more S5 AP4 ignores cover hits.

      Delete
    4. "And another type of shot that if a model is killed then the model explodes and hurts others around"

      To be graphic, that's the target's exploding body. The bones become like shrapnel to anyone close by.

      Delete
    5. I see it more as making potential rests run away before you get within charge range of the unit you want to melee. Shoot everyone around them, making them run away, and leave your target vulnerable to a charge. And if he's independent then the turn to charge, you could have them split off the Harlequin unit and shoot another unit while the Harlequin Troupe goes after something else.

      Delete
  8. Death jester looks worth it to me. Especially with that -2ld mask. I'd even consider the -2ld armour of misery from my dark eldar. Breaking enemie unit will be much easier. You can old school slaanesh lash them.
    He causes a moral test as soon as the wound is caused. This mean you could have an enemy unit take multiple moral tests?

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Add in a WWP Archon w/armour of misery for an extra -2 Ld lol

      Delete
    2. For expensive but hilarious trolls, give a Haemonculus a WWP and the Archangel of Pain (stick him in a chunky unit of Grotesques), take an Archon with a WWP and the armour of misery and stick a Shadowseer with the Mask in a Venom with him.

      Boom! Hilarious, leadership-based shenanigans! Efficient? Hell naw! Fun? YEP!

      (If you're playing against Marines, ignore all of this)

      Delete
    3. The SS psychic powers still work fine against Marines, it's just all the fun DE wargear and vehicle upgrades you have to skip because Marines get Fearless Double Plus Good.

      Delete
    4. I thought the Archangel was the only thing that won't work against Marines from the above mentioned shenanigans. Won't the AoM, Freakish Spectacle, Mask, AND -2 Ld from DJ wound still work against ATSKNF? The DJ should still be able to force them fall back (or forwards/sideways off the table), right?

      Delete
    5. That's correct. I was thinking more along the lines of forcing a fall back straight towards the Death Jester or other Harlequins. If the fall back roll is high enough then the broken unit gets cross-fired and removed from the game? ...if I understand 7th edition correctly.

      Delete
    6. This thread is exactly what I am going to do with my shadowseers and grots. Fear bombs ftw!

      Delete
    7. Does a unit only have to check Moral once a phase? or could multiple DJ's hit the same unit to cause it to test multiple times?

      "An enemy unit that suffers one or more wounds from the DJ in a shooting phase must immediately take a morale check as though they had taken 25% casualties, at -2 LD. If they fail the test, the DJ chooses in which direction they flee. If they continue to flee in subsequent rounds, they fall back towards their own table edge as usual."

      And can you still make an enemy unit take a test at the end of the phase for taking enough causalities?

      Sorry don't have the BRB on me to check

      Delete
    8. True, it's just the archangel that wouldn't work against marines. It'd be amazing against anything that isn't fearless/leadership 10 though.

      Almost guaranteed to slaughter most of a squad then force them to take a panic test which they will very likely fail. And since you've used deepstrike to get right into their deployment zone, they'll probably flee off the board!

      Delete
    9. Crisis Suit squad? BYE-BYE!

      Delete
    10. Why would you ignore it if you're playing against marines? Are you one of those people who think ATSKNF makes them not have to take morale checks? Topkek. They take morale checks like everyone else. They just auto-regroup at the start of their next turn.

      Delete
    11. Nope, it's because the Archangel of Pains specifically says it doesn't work on ATSKNF and the whole point of my wee thing was reducing the enemy's leadership down to basically nothing then forcing them to take a bunch of auto-wounds from the Archangel. I know how ATSKNF works, I've been playing Marines since I got into the hobby.

      Delete
    12. You can still reduce them with the shadowseer mask and a farseer with the -2 ld eldar power

      Delete
    13. WAIT..... what happens if all this wargear and Psicic powers... brings an enemi unit to ld "0"?? Don't they die?
      o.O

      Delete
  9. This comment has been removed by the author.

    ReplyDelete
  10. What happens when you charge a unit that's fleeing? In theory you can pick their fall back direction with the DJ to make it easier to charge by making them closer.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. They have to test to regroup if you can make it into combat,if they fail the test they get wiped.

      Delete
  11. So, for formation 2, do they still move 12" like the solitare, and can they blitz?

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. No, they are the same. But you can put them somewhere nice (like a ruin) and pick of enemies :D

      Delete
  12. They aren't a unit, it's just a formation made of three individual models. It says specifically that nothing can join them or be joined by them - so it's just three characters with infiltrate stealth and shrouded.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. It's possible they are a unit of characters, for example Grimnar's War Council has the option of retaining Independent Character status or becoming a unit and then nobody can join them (apart from Grimnar and Arjac). The fact the leak says nobody can join this formation suggests they be a unit since as far as I'm aware independent characters still can't join each other normally to form units.

      Delete
    2. Or the haemy covens where an IC is put in a unit with 2 MC's , just cause one can't be joined ever doesn't mean they won't make a formation to do it.

      Delete
    3. ICs explicitly can join each other to form unit and that has been the case as long as the IC rule has existed in my recollection. However this formation seems like 3 separate Characters.

      Delete
    4. That's the bit I was doubting myself on.

      Delete
    5. I translated the leaks - the formation includes 3 Independent Characters. The solitaire specifically can never join a unit. And the special rule states that the models in the formation may not join other units or characters, nor be joined by other characters. That includes the other characters from the formation.

      Heck, the special rule is called "the lonesome path" (translated loosely). They can't join anything, not even each other. They're meant to go solo, with infiltrate and stealth/shrouded to let them be all secretive and assassiny.

      Delete
  13. Anyone know the stats for a mist stave yet? Is it in the existing codex or is it new?

    ReplyDelete