Subscribe Us

header ads

Harlequin Warlord Traits and Formations


A lot of information is being released on the new Harlequin codex, including the new formations and all the Warlord Traits. There are three different groups of Warlord Traits, and thus far I am thinking the Darkness table is where I am at. Take a look at the latest information coming out.


Please remember that this is early codex information. There is a little room for error.

via warseer’s ZeroNoRyouki

1) 3 Troups, 3 DJ, 3 SS, 1 Solitaire, 2 units of Skyweavers, 1 unit of Voidweavers
Restriction: none
Special rules:
– outstanding performace (you may reroll inv saves of 1 for all the models of the formation)
– emissary of Cegorach (if the troup master is your warlord, you can reroll his harlequin’s warlord trait)
– pressing Crescendo (from the beginning of turn 2, all units in this formation with the Fleet special rule can Run and Charge in the same turn) <– this is huge!

PS: Crescendo is a musical term so i’m leaving as it is

Edit: the other 5..

2) 3 Troupes, 2 units of Skyweavers, 3 Starweavers, 1 unit of Voidweavers
Restrictions:
– each Troupe must take one of the formation Starweavers as a Dedicated Transport

Special rules:
– emissary of Cegorach (if the troup master is your warlord, you can reroll his harlequin’s warlord trait)

– the aerial walk (one Troup from this formation can use his Hit&Run to embark in a free Starweaver from this formation. If the Hit&Run rolled distance is enough to move all models within 2″ of the Starweaver the Troupe can embark immediately. If a consolidation movement is enough to move all models within 2″ of a free Starweaver from this formation the Troupe can embark immediately) !!!

3) “company of actors”
1 Troupe, 1 DJ, 1 SS
Restrictions:
– all models from this formation must deployed as a single unit. DJ & SS can’t leave the unit

Special rules:
– crusader
– heralds of the Laughing’s God (any models with the Eldar or Dark Eldar faction (friend or foe) within 6″ from one or more models of this formation gain the crusader special rule)

4) “Cegorach’s jest” 
1 Troupe, 1 unit of Skyweavers, 1 unit of Voidweavers
Restrictions:none

Special rules:
– pressing Crescendo (from the beginning of turn 2, all units in this formation with the Fleet special rule can Run and Charge in the same turn)

5) “way of heroes” 
1 DS, 1 SS, 1 Solitaire
Restrictions:none

Special rules:
– Infiltrate
– shrouded
– stealth
– a lonesome path (models from this formation cannot join other units and no one can join them)

6) “Faolchu’s Blade” 
2 units of Skyweavers, 1 unit of Voidweavers
Restrictions:none

Special rules:
– the Wings of Faolchù (you may reroll failed cover saves while jinking with units of this formation)

Let me known if you need any clarification on the leaked DJ & SS pages

Edit2 : I’m reading on another forum (GW Tilea) that “pressing Crescendo” if the special rule for the Harlquins’ detachment. The other rule is “emissary of Cegorach”




Harlequin Warlord Traits:
– DJ and SS can roll a D6 on the BRB tables or a D3 (that’s not a typo) on the Harlequins ones
– The Troupe master can roll a D6 on every tables (BRB & codex)

“Light” table
1) the warlord reroll all to-hit of 1 (shooting & cc) and all saves of 1
2) 4+ inv for the the warlord
3) the warlord and his unit can add 1″ every time they move (movement, running, charging, fall back, regroup, hit&run, consolidation, sweep etc etc)
4) you can add 4 to any roll to steal the initiative
5) before deployment, choose up to D3 units from your primary detachment. every unit gain one of: deep strike, infiltrate, scout (choose as you like)
6) immediately after deployment and after scout moves, you can remove from the table your warlord and/or up to other D3 friendly units with the Harlequins faction within 12″ of the warlord. Any units removed this way may immediately deployed using normal deploiment rules or put in Reserve

“twilight” table
1) the warlord reroll all to-hit of 1 (shooting & cc) and all saves of 1
2) 4+ inv for the the warlord
3) the warlord and his unit can add 1″ every time they move (movement, running, charging, fall back, regroup, hit&run, consolidation, sweep etc etc)
4) if the mission use variable lenght, you can add or substract 2 to the roll to determine if the game ends
5) any to-wound roll of 6 made by the warlord in close combat (or any to-wound roll of 5+ while making a Kiss of Death attack) gain the Instant Death special rule
6) once per game your warlord and his unit can make a “mirror leap” instead of moving: they can move 24″, moving over other models and terrains like in open terrain but cannon end over other models or in impassable terrains. They cannot charge in the same turn

“darkness” table
1) the warlord reroll all to-hit of 1 (shooting & cc) and all saves of 1
2) 4+ inv for the the warlord
3) the warlord and his unit can add 1″ every time they move (movement, running, charging, fall back, regroup, hit&run, consolidation, sweep etc etc)
4) enemy units in base contact with the warlord or his unit must roll an additional D6 while taking Fear or Morale tests
5) at the end of the game, before declaring the winner, you can move one time only your warlord and his unit like in the movement phase, than they can run or shoot like in the shooting phase, and, next, if you so desire, can charge and fight a single turn of combact like in the assault phase (the adversary can overwath and fight normally). If your warlord is locked in combat at the end of the game, he and his unit can only choose to fight an additional turn of combat. If the warlord unit is embarked, it can disembark but the transport cannot move or shoot. After the warlord and his unit have done this extra action the game end (finally I may say…)
6) if your warlord is removed from play while in a challenge, the players roll out immediately: if you win the roll out or if it is a tie the adversary of your warlord is removed as well



Post a Comment

29 Comments

  1. Harlies are kinda ridiculous. The darkness table is the best.

    ReplyDelete
  2. Does anybody yet know if the starweaver is dedicated transport only or if it can be taken as a fast attack choice? The 2nd formations restrictions of having to take them as dedicated would be a bit redundant to state if they were dedicated only.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. They are dedicated but not mandatory. The second formation makes them mandatory.

      Delete
    2. Transports have been able to be purchased individually since 7th dropped with dedicated as an option.

      Delete
    3. They have the fast attack symbol on the datasheet so they can be taken separately from a troupe, similar to Raiders or venoms

      Delete
    4. Transports have been able to be purchased individually since 7th dropped with dedicated as an option.

      Delete
    5. they have teh fast attack mark at the top in the rules in the WD

      Delete
    6. Starweavers are Fast Attack unless taken as a dedicated transport which a Harlequin Troupe can do normally if they choose. The formation is saying that the 3 Starweavers you must take are to be matched with the 3 Harlequin Troupes. So in this instance they are not Fast Attack choices and must be dedicated transports.

      Delete
    7. I was wondering for use with allies. Would be a good delivery mechanism for trueborn and an archon or haemonculi and wracks, venoms being unsuited to it being a 5 man transport and those now coming in minimum size 5. More for style over usefulness really.

      Delete
  3. I'm confused about the embarking from Hit and Run. It says 1 unit from this formation, does that mean only 1 unit can ever benefit from this rule for the whole game?

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. It means that if 2 troupe are locked in CC within range of 1 transport, only 1 of the troupes can leap onto it. The other unit could only perform a normal hit-and-run escape move unless a 2nd vehicle is within range.

      Delete
    2. I'm the guy who translated the rules from a pic of the Italian codex. That "one Troupe" is not to be read as "only 1 Troupe". I guess i should have traslated it as "a Troupe". Sorry about that

      Delete
    3. Don't worry about it, GW tend to make similarly poorly worded codex entries in the English print :P

      Delete
  4. My first pick is "Company of actors". Take them into DE WebwayPortal Raider. The Archon with Armour of Misery for -2 Ld. Shadowseer with the Mask for another -2 Ld, and arm the Troupe with meltas. In Psychic Phase the Seer can Psychic Shriek one unit with -4 Ld, and in the Shooting Phase the Harlies & Jester can pop something big.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Ya that looks like the "starter" formation for a harlaquin masque

      Delete
    2. Is it possible to start the game in a trasport from other faction?

      Delete
    3. As long as it is not a DT I think it can

      Delete
  5. My first pick is "Company of actors". Take them into DE WebwayPortal Raider. The Archon with Armour of Misery for -2 Ld. Shadowseer with the Mask for another -2 Ld, and arm the Troupe with meltas. In Psychic Phase the Seer can Psychic Shriek one unit with -4 Ld, and in the Shooting Phase the Harlies & Jester can pop something big.

    ReplyDelete
  6. With the masque formation getting the run+charge rule and the rerolls for the troupe master, I like that a lot more now. I'd probably take it as my primary, adding shadowseers and death jesters to taste, with a CaD of Dark Eldar attached. Or do CaDs have to be primary?

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Only Allied detachments (1HQ, 1 Troops) cannot be primary. All other Formations, Detachments & Dataslates can be primary. So the Masque can be primary without any doubt.

      Delete
    2. Only Allied detachments (1HQ, 1 Troops) cannot be primary. All other Formations, Detachments & Dataslates can be primary. So the Masque can be primary without any doubt.

      Delete
  7. Every trait in the Darkness table is pretty powerful. Number 6 is downright rotten.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. 6 from light seems useful getting your unit to where it needs to be. bad they cannot charge as well but 24" free move sounds ok. especially in the right circumstance. other than that year darks much better than light.

      Delete
    2. oops i mean't twilight.

      Delete
  8. If I take formation 1, are the troupes able to take starweavers as dedicated transports also? (And would these also benefit from the reroll 1's?)

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I don't see why it matters if they are dedicated or not, taking them as not dedicated is better though, as something else can start inside it if you so desire.

      From what we know of the rule it say any model can re-roll 1's, vehicles are also counted as models, so yes.

      Delete
    2. Well, taking them un-dedicated means they're not part of the formation and wouldn't benefit from the special rules, right?

      Delete
  9. So in a tournament, it's dice down except for harlequin players?!?!?!? That'd be hysterical

    ReplyDelete
  10. The English was a bi poor, took me a few read through to get what some of the warlord traits were, but I must say I like them!

    ReplyDelete