Subscribe Us

header ads

FAQ's, Minor Updates,and Conflicts


There was a FAQ update on the Games Workshop website yesterday for the main 40k rulebook and a few other codices. Dark Eldar, Orks, and Space Wolves had updates.


What is interesting is that although the Games Workshop's newly placed updates were put up on the webstore, the Black Library FAQ's and Erratas were not. Obviously the Games Workshop updates take priority as they are newer, but without both being updated there is the obvious confusion when two players show up with the most current FAQs from official sites. Updating one without the other can lead to problems down the line.

Here is a link to see the latest updates
http://www.games-workshop.com/en-US/Rules-Errata#40k-errata


The biggest updates on them are cyberwolves becoming T5, immobilized skimmers cannot jink, and fnp does not keep your shadowfield active. Really the fnp and not being able to jink were common sense, but apparently needed clarifying.

There were a couple other updates, and its always good to see them. So head over and check them out.


Post a Comment

72 Comments

  1. Wow a flat out Toughness change. That's a pretty major change for a unit.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Actually is not a stat change. On the Quick Reference Table they had T5 and on the Datasheets T4, so this is just a clarification of which of the profiles was the right one.

      Delete
    2. Also, there's like a max 1 for the regular unit IIRC.

      Delete
    3. Ahh didn't know that. I don't play with SW.

      I use thousand sons actually so I wish it was toughness 1!!!

      Delete
    4. ^ that's 1T too high :D

      Delete
  2. Now they are useful for TWC Iron Priests. However, it is a new direction to directly alter stats I think.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Still I find T5 too weak against the current shooty meta. That's why I'm planning to attach Thuderwolf Lords/Iron Priests with lots of dogs to a Thunderfire Cannon/Rapier for T7 against shooting.

      Delete
    2. they are characters and not independent characters - therefore cannot join another unit?

      Delete
    3. Wouldn't you still use majority toughness?

      Delete
    4. I'm pretty sure they're wargear for the Iron Priest and thus join any unit that the Iron Priest does. Kind of like the drones for Tau battle suits.

      Delete
    5. "If shooting at an Artillery unit, the Toughness of the guns is always used whilst at least one gun remains." + need an allied SM detachment to take artillery. I choose Salamanders. Their HQ Harath Shen gives this T7 Thunderwolf unit 4+ Feel No Pain.

      Delete
    6. "If a Space Wolves character has the Independent Character special rule, he and his wolves (Fenrisian Wolves and/or Cyberwolves) are permitted to join other units, in which case both the character and his wolves join the unit. If the Independent Character then leaves the unit, all his surviving wolves also leave the unit, forming a separate unit with him."

      Delete
    7. So youre expensive cavalry unit is just gonna sit in the backfield and camp out? If that's the case you're using your thunderwolves wrong

      Delete
    8. Artillery can move 6'' while at the same time the attached Cavalry advances forward 12''. The Cannon/Rapier is only for survinng 2 turns of enemy shooting, afterwards the Cavalry breaks in seperate units and charges (and that's what this unit is made for).

      Delete
    9. Wow, sorry if I'm being "that guy" but there are not enough eye rolls for that tactic. I just laugh at the thought of the mighty wolf lord on his fearsome thunder wolf and accompanying pack all cowering behind and artillery piece.

      Delete
    10. That's why we have D weapons. To destroy schmuck list like this.

      Delete
    11. If your thunder wolves are joined to a unit that only moves 6", they can only move 6". You're literally making up rules if you think otherwise.

      Your units can only move as fast as the slowest piece.

      Delete
    12. That's not true, it a valid(stupid) tactic that people use to "string along" units,

      Delete
    13. About moving as the slowest unit. @ Nick Powell I haven't played since 5th but I am trying to relearn how to play. Please correct me if I am wrong, but I thought in 7th if one mini can move 6" and another move 12" they both move at their max distance if they choose so, but still have to stay in unit co herency. I guess if you string your units you can still do it then.

      Again please correct me if I am wrong, so much to relearn.

      Delete
    14. Maybe I'm missing something.. how does the cannon move 6" and the TWC 12" and they still remain coherency? If you're using your cavalry correctly they should be in cc on turn 2

      Delete
    15. Not all the wolves move at their full movement. The infamous slingshot.

      Delete
    16. A unit can only move as fast as the slowest model. The cannon moves 6 inches thus the wolves can only move 6 inches. Don't try to argue against it. It's just how it is.

      Delete
    17. Anyone think to check the rulebook before just spouting nonsense?

      "Different Movement Distances Within a Unit

      Sometimes, a unit will contain models that move at different speeds. When this is the case, each model can move up to its maximum movement allowance so long as it remains in unit coherency (see below)."

      Delete
  3. How long before we see the update to lower the Wraith's toughness back to 4?

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. They won't dominate the meta enough to warrant it.

      Removing the twin-linked benefits and Ignores Cover on the Serpent Shield, however...

      Delete
    2. i play eldar and i still dont see the point and usefullness of serpentspam AV12 or MeQ or TeQ stops it easily, D6+1 ap- isnt that gamebreaking, only other eldar IG tau and nids fear it, marines scrub it off from their powerarmour

      Delete
    3. SHHHH! ClassicCarraway! They'll hear you! Then our one good unit will suck!

      Delete
    4. You're deluded if you think that wraiths are all that the necrons have.

      Delete
    5. Yeah Wraiths certainly aren't 'Crons "one good unit" heck they are even in the best two Fast Attack choices (Tomb Blades by a mile followed by Destroyers).

      Delete
    6. See? Mauler gets jokes. Pinky and tift, lighten up.

      Delete
  4. Interesting... Guess that means all FNP tests are no longer 'these wounds didn't happen' rolls.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. They haven't been for at least three editions. You take them when you take an unsaved wound. Concussive, shadowfield and the like all treat it as a wound occurring for all purposes except losing the wound.

      Delete
    2. Do you even read the rules before you post? The BRB says:
      "...treat [the unsaved wound] as having been saved."

      How does it make sense that it breaks Shadowfield when you have to treat it as if it was saved? This FAQ entry now directly contradicts the RAW of the BRB.

      Delete
  5. The charge ove change is a pretty big deal. It can severely limits how many models can spread out to get the majority of models in combat.

    ReplyDelete
  6. A very minor point, but erratum is singular while errata is plural.

    ReplyDelete
  7. immobilized skimmers can't jink anymore? Oh man, my grav guns just got better!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Those poor, underpowered grav guns. *sheds a tear*

      Delete
    2. Regardless of grav opinions, Jink is kind of out of control right now so is needed pretty badly.

      Delete
    3. Jink is fine, it's Wave Serpents which are out of control.

      Delete
    4. Never had a problem with jinking. Just sing a glorious cacaphony. They will weep blood!

      Delete
    5. To explain further, Jink's problems are it does nothing to effect charges, passengers, and is easily upgraded. On some units its fine, but all the abusing OP units benefited greatly from the change.

      Bikes, Wave Serpents and many others weapons are already twin linked. So the penalty is mostly negated. Ghost Arks always jink because they have lots of fire power from the guys inside who are never effected by it. My favorite isn't even an OP unit. Nurgle Princes have a 2+ cover save, just jink all the time there is no penalty. No critical decisions needed, just free 2+ cover.

      In addition, the way the game is designed if you want to kill something big you just pour fire power into it with something that ignores its save. Its why things like land raiders die so easily because it is easy to just focus your only weapons that can hurt it onto it and its points gone. By granting something big a high save it dramatically increasing its survivability that is not reflected on the points of any of those units. The better answer than nerfing all those units is changing jink to address those issues.

      Delete
    6. Poor Dark Eldar, if they ever do to jink what some people think they should Dark Eldar will be in the whole deeper than ever!

      Delete
    7. Dark Eldar vehicles are below 60 points. Cheap than a chimera that can deep strike is an assault vehicle can can bump its jink up one point. Take a look at skardcast's reports and you can see DE are performing just fine.

      Moreover, the point is to make jinking an actual decision. Right now players just default to jinking all the time because the penalty is near non-existent.

      Delete
    8. it's funny when I was in the local GW there was a conversation about how stupid it was immobalized transports could jink

      Delete
    9. But it makes sense that immobilized vehicles could jink - the crew would get out of the vehicle and jink it by pushing and pulling it by themselves lol

      Delete
    10. Twinlinked weapons dont "mostly negate" the downside of jinking. Mot by a longshot.

      Delete
    11. No one else finds this particular FAQ entry to be vague? The way it reads to me is, (and I'm not trying to be obtuse, I agree that logically anything immobilized cannot jink) if you ARE NOT heavy or ARE immobilized, you have jink.

      Delete
    12. This comment has been removed by the author.

      Delete
  8. Finally officially answered the IC's with infiltrate giving it to other units

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. But the question is this (just for clarity), can an IC without infiltrate that his held in reserve, join a unit that has infiltrate if they are also held in reserve and Vice Versa? If so, then can the whole combined unit outflank?

      Delete
    2. I don't have my rulebook in front of me, but when do you decide that the independent character is attached to the squad? If you have to do that during deployment (that is, place the character and the squad together in reserve), then the above rule should still cover it...

      Delete
    3. This comment has been removed by the author.

      Delete
  9. Quick question: am I the only one around here who doesnt find it clear whether or not two seperate psykers in the same unit can or cannot use the same psychic power if both of them have it? We have a lot of argument about this here and I am dying to see a FAQ/Errata about this.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. As far as I know, each psyker can use each of their powers once per turn (unless stated otherwise), regardless as to whether they are in the same unit or not. The only exception is if they are a brotherhood of psykers, in which case the whole unit can only use each power once.

      Delete
    2. Problem is that at the "Manifesting Psychic Power" entry it says that you can attempt to manifest another psychic power with a another psychic unit that the unit knows, but at the end it reads "no unit can attempt to manifest the same psychic power", not "no psychic unit...". Some reason this means that even though these are seperate psykers they are casting from the same unit so they can't cast the same power twice (which pretty much screws my warlock council).

      Delete
    3. ^ it also stops psykerspam. that's if i read that right

      Delete
    4. The point of the seer council is a 10 man psykerspam, in a single unit. To me it sounds very absurd that one of them cant use its power when another one used the same.

      Delete
  10. Where are the FAQs for TWC with power fists and the like dammit. S9 or S10?

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. It's S10. The model is S5 in its profile, that is the end all be all.

      You could argue a mounted Wolf Lord is S9 as it's profile is S4, but I'd counter that the improvement to characteristics the Thunderwolf mount provides is not a modifier but an improvement on the base characteristics of the model.

      Delete
    2. As much as I think riding a dog shouldnt magically make a person stronger, RAW the wolf makes the riders base strength improve. So it isn't a modifier.

      Delete
  11. Hmmm i found these the other day on GWs website but they didn't have the new FAQs... so thanks GW for releasing January,s FAQs only a month later.

    ReplyDelete
  12. Everyone is going on about how GW flat out changed the toughness value, but they only clarified which toughness value was correct since it was giving two different values on the quick reference and datasheet (as Lord_Dralnu said above).

    ReplyDelete
  13. FYI, Harlequin Masque FOC and vehicle stats: http://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/1290/628189.page#7583452

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Looking at the fluff for the starweaver, it seems to indicate that harlequins can A) assault directly from the vehicle, without first disembarking, and B) hit and run back onto their transport. Both of these actions would seem to me to be illegal in the general sense, but I have yet to encounter either scenario. Maybe some rules gurus can clarify if these actions are legal, or if this fluff is indicative of some harlequin special rules?

      Delete
    2. On a more displeased note, please, good GW sirs and madams, stop jamming fear down our throats. It is *best Shirley temple voice* ever so useless!

      Delete
  14. Can we please get a clarification that marines do or do not get divination.

    There are those few people who insist that because the little reference card has a check in it, you can ignore the codex and codex faq that says no.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. The first entry under amendments in the FAQ says that they get what it says on their datacard plus daemonology. Their datacard is the codex entry, not a slip of paper in an optional limited availability product.
      Anyway, there is no conflict with the psychic card reference. Tigurius is a Space Marine, he can take divination, therefore Space Marines have access to divination. The reference card does not say all Space Marine Librarians get the same powers. This is the same in many other codexes, Astra Militarum, Eldar, Chaos Space Marines, and Daemons. Eldar Warlocks do not get access to divination. Farseers do get access to divination. They are both Eldar. Astropaths do not get access to Divination, Primaris and Wyrdvane do, but yet they are both Astra Militarum. Likewise TIGIRIUS gets access to divination, but Space Marine Librarians do not, they are both Space Marines, therefore the FACTION can use divination powers.

      Delete
    2. Also.. space wolf rune priests have access to divination and they are space marines so..

      Delete