Oblivous to what some people tend to think of me locally, I am generally pretty relaxed when it comes to people playing their armies. It does bug me though when later upon looking it up, that I find out that a person really does not know the rule they were quoting for the army they are playing. Sometimes it matters in the game, and most of the time it does not.

Enough rant. Here are a couple rules verifications you should know when facing or playing Grey Knights.



Hammerhand.
Does this stack when it is used twice in a single unit. For example, a librarian and the unit he is attached to use it?
Yes, this one was done correctly by my opponent, but I want to make sure others out there realize this. Here is the FAQ quote on the main rulebook.

Q: Do the effects of the same psychic power cast multiple times on the same unit stack? (p50)

A: Yes, unless specifically stated otherwise

Multiple Assaults
This one did not effect the game in any way, but was brought up afterwards, when my opponent claimed "Multiple Assaults must be declared"

This one is simply not true. There is nowhere in the rulebook nor faqs that says this. When you plan on multi-assaulting, you must only declare the primary target of your assault. Then once you engage that target you may multi-assault as you wish. Most people normally tell their opponent that they are attempting to multi-assault as they are doing it. That is how it works.

Nemesis Force Staves
This one did effect my game, as my opponent declared incorrectly that a nemesis force weapon gave his librarian a 2+ invul save against everything as long as it was in the assault phase. This is not true. The FAQ ruling simply allows that someone wielding a nemesis force stave, can take its 2+ invul save to anything while it is engaged. This means that charging through dangerous terrain does not allow you to take your 2+ invul save. Here is the FAQ ruling.

Q: Can the save granted by a Nemesis warding stave be taken against all Wounds suffered whilst the wielder is engaged in close combat and not only against Wounds caused by close combat attacks? (p54)

A: Yes.

7 Comments:

  1. Good to know on that hammerhand rule, I'm playing a 2500pt 2v2 tournament at the end of the month with a GK player (I'm playing my sisters of battle) and I'll have to mention that rule.

    ReplyDelete
  2. whops... strange ruling on the Warding stave, as it is pretty clear that it is against wounds caused in close combat.

    But GW is known for strange rulings if you ask me.

    Non the less it is important to know the rules and how they actually work, or you could be taken by suprice.

    ReplyDelete
  3. Not really all that strange. The staff probably actively blocks hits in combat. That shouldn't help you avoid the fire from a burning plasma tank or drowning in a river.

    ReplyDelete
  4. no... you have to declare the multipel assault

    just as the normal... caus you could not move closest to closest in order to get an advantage and youre opponent wouldn´t know until you actual move the 1st model in contact with the 2nd unit (u have to move closest to closest to the nearest unit even if you can´t hurt that unit)you can´t pick wich model to assault after the 1st.

    all moves you make should be declared.. otherwise it only leads to dispute

    ReplyDelete
  5. anon, give us a page number in the actual rule book where it says this you must declare a multi-assault. It doesnt say this anywhere.

    The rules say
    "declare which enemy unit it (your unit) is going to assault"

    Under multiple enemy units it says.....
    As usual the closest attacking model must be moved to contact teh closest model in the enemy unit against which the assault was declared. then remaining models can assault models belonging to other enemy units, as long as they keep following the rules for moving assaulting models.

    So while you should tell your opponent what you are doing, declaring multi-assaults is not in the rules.

    Also with the obvious movement restrictions listed listed at the bottom of pg34.
    "after moving the first model in the unit, you can move the others in any sequence you desire"

    All of this is on pages 33 and 34 of the main rule book.

    ReplyDelete
  6. @Loopy:
    That is what I ment, it should only save you from actual wounds made in assault.
    Not from things faling from the sky on top of them or things like that.

    @Anonymous2:
    You don't have to declare multi assaults, only the primary target. As Natfka said; you usually let the oponent now just to be nice, but you do not have to!

    ReplyDelete
  7. also one thing to add in here, is that once the weilder of the nemesis force stave is engaged, things like exploding vehicles, or wandering barrages allow a 2+ invulnerable save.

    ReplyDelete

 
Top
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...